Bacon Mushroom Swiss Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Wow - ten stars. My family devoured this meatloaf, saying repeatedly that I'd outdone myself. My father exclaimed that it was the best dinner I've ever made (hubby and I cook for them almost every weekend!). I added half a packet of onion soup mix and a shake or two of garlic powder. I also made a vegetarian version for myself, using meatless "crumbles" and "bacon". Although a bit time consuming, making my family so happy was well worth the effort. Thank you for such a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I fixed this dish last night and my husband and I both say it's the best meatloaf we have ever eaten. The only thing different is maybe a light sauce over the top but, goodness, it is melt in your mouth and you don't want to stop eating it, which doesn't happen with meatloaf normally. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Great meatloaf!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCatsMeow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
A nice change from the usual. Would probably make again, as hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
We loved this recipe. Made this several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe! I have had a tough time finding a good meatloaf recipe, and this one was great with a few changes. I cooked 5 pieces of thin sliced bacon and added it to the recipe. I layed 4-5 raw pieces on the loaf when I baked it, and poured off the grease as it cooked. I used sour cream instead of the milk, and used about a half cup. I have always done that because the loaf stays more moist. I used some good Italian bread instead of the cracker crumbs, and I chunked up the swiss cheese as others had suggested. I didn't use any spices except pepper. I know it sounds like I made a lot of changes, but really I didn't. As with all recipes, there is usually room for changes according to your tastes. We loved this, and I will be making this again! I shared the recipe with a co-worker today too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
It was okay. I didn't use evaporated milk... like other said, I didn't want to open it for just a 1/4 cup. I used bread crumbs instead of cornflakes... somehow I don't think the frosted kind would taste all that great. ;) It was a decent base recipe... my husband loved it. I thought it was lacking flavor. Might try other things next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Absolutely amazing! I used ground turkey to 'lighten' this up a little. My husband, who usually doesn't like meatloaf, LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe was a hit! There was nothing left of this meat loaf when we were done eating. I did have to change a few things. I left out mushrooms and onions (hubby doesn't like either). And he said it was awesome. I also used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes, and just used regular milk. It took longer than listed to prepare, probably because I have all-clad aluminum pots to cook the bacon in, and it just takes a bit longer for the bacon to finish cooking. It was worth the wait. We all love bacon and cheese, especially the kiddo, and so we all enjoyed it. Will be making this one again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Absolutely the best comfort food. Perfect dinner for a cold day. This recipe was delicious and very easy to prepare. I did'nt change a thing. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States