Bacon Mushroom Swiss Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Great meatloaf!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCatsMeow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
A nice change from the usual. Would probably make again, as hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
We loved this recipe. Made this several times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I loved this recipe! I have had a tough time finding a good meatloaf recipe, and this one was great with a few changes. I cooked 5 pieces of thin sliced bacon and added it to the recipe. I layed 4-5 raw pieces on the loaf when I baked it, and poured off the grease as it cooked. I used sour cream instead of the milk, and used about a half cup. I have always done that because the loaf stays more moist. I used some good Italian bread instead of the cracker crumbs, and I chunked up the swiss cheese as others had suggested. I didn't use any spices except pepper. I know it sounds like I made a lot of changes, but really I didn't. As with all recipes, there is usually room for changes according to your tastes. We loved this, and I will be making this again! I shared the recipe with a co-worker today too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
It was okay. I didn't use evaporated milk... like other said, I didn't want to open it for just a 1/4 cup. I used bread crumbs instead of cornflakes... somehow I don't think the frosted kind would taste all that great. ;) It was a decent base recipe... my husband loved it. I thought it was lacking flavor. Might try other things next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Absolutely amazing! I used ground turkey to 'lighten' this up a little. My husband, who usually doesn't like meatloaf, LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe was a hit! There was nothing left of this meat loaf when we were done eating. I did have to change a few things. I left out mushrooms and onions (hubby doesn't like either). And he said it was awesome. I also used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes, and just used regular milk. It took longer than listed to prepare, probably because I have all-clad aluminum pots to cook the bacon in, and it just takes a bit longer for the bacon to finish cooking. It was worth the wait. We all love bacon and cheese, especially the kiddo, and so we all enjoyed it. Will be making this one again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Absolutely the best comfort food. Perfect dinner for a cold day. This recipe was delicious and very easy to prepare. I did'nt change a thing. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Fantastic - Moist and delicious. Split into two smaller loaf pans and cooked for less time. Good enough to serve at 'fancy' meals... even though its meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
MY HUSBAND LOVED THIS.. WE LOW EAT LOW-CARB AND THIS RECIPE MINUS THE CORNFLAKES IS AWESOME.. I AM A TWEAKER.. SO FOR ALL OF THOSE TRADITIONALIST I PRE-APOLOGIZE.. 2# OF CHUCK.. 12 OZ. QUALITY BACON DICED SMALL..8 OZ MUSHROOMS CHOPPED..1 VERY SMALL YELLOW ONION CHOPPED FINE.. 6 OZ. CABOT MILD CHEDDAR IN CHUNKS.. GARLIC SALT.. 2 EGGS.. SQUIRT OF LOW-CARB KETCHUP..... I RENDERED BACON AND REMOVED FROM PAN.. ADDED ONION AND MUSHROOM TILL SOFT.. DRAINED WITH BACON.. COOLED A LITTLE BIT.. ADDED ALL TO MEATLOAF AND AT FIRST I HAD MY DOUBTS.. BUT... IT WAS MAGNIFICENT!! DID NOT ADD ADDITIONAL ANYTHING TO TOP.. I HAD READ OTHER REVIEWS THAT SAID CHEESE WAS LOST IN MEATLOAF SHREDDED SO I HAD CHUNKS.. ADN SOME WERE OOZING OUT THE TOP AND OUT THE SIDE.. TOTALLY AWESOME.. MY HUSBAND MADE SURE I WROTE THIS ONE DOWN 'COZ I NEVER MAKE MEATLOAF THE SAME WAY TWICE... THA MUSHROOMS GAVE AN EXTRA MEATY TASTE, CHOPPED FINE IT WAS HARD TO TELL THEY WERE THERE.. THEN YOU WOULD BITE INTO A CHUNK OF GOOD MELTED CHEDDAR.. WE ATE WITH "SMOTHERED GREEN BEANS" ....... OH I OMITTED THE MILK... I WOULD DEFINITELY TRY WITH THE SWISS (DIDNT HAVE ANY)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States