Bacon Mushroom Swiss Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
For whatever reason, my bacon didn't produce the usual amount of drippings, so once the bacon was cooked halfway, I added my onion and mushrooms to the pan. Otherwise, I followed the recipe almost exactly (used lean instead of extra lean) and it turned out great. Good on buns the next day with extra swiss and sliced tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Not what I was expecting. No one in my family liked it. I followed exactly but it wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was great. I made changes to suit my low-carb lifestyle. I left out the evaporated milk and replaced cornflake crumbs with low-carb pita bread crumbs. I did not use bacon simply because we didn't have any, and I topped the meatloaf with mushrooms instead of mixing them in. I know that makes it not quite the same recipe, but you get the idea. My three year old and husband enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksoutforcheese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
AMAZING....I will never make traditional meatloaf again. I used 2 eggs instead of 1, and it was perfect I also used the Hormel Real Bacon Pieces that come in a bottle, so much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Best meatloaf ever!! Instead of an onion, I used onion soup mix, and turkey bacon. I also put a layer of cheese in the middle. My husband and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is the BEST meatloaf I have ever had!! And as an added bonus my 6 year old loved it! Great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLEA1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This turned out excellent. I used 1 pound of ground beef and 1/2 pound of ground pork because my grocer had it already pre-weighed for meatloaf. I used some extra cheese and portabello mushrooms instead of white and extra of those as well. I used the food processor to combine the onion, bacon, and mushrooms raw and then fried the contents in a frying pan before adding to the meat mixture. I also used the food processor on the swiss cheese, which gave nice chunks instead of shredded cheese that can get lost in a dish like this. I used slices of swiss on the top as well as a few pieces of whole bacon on top of that. I broiled the last few minutes of cooking time to crisp the bacon and it turned out perfect. Extra ingredients equaled extra flavor and the presentation couldn't be beat. Huge hit! Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This meatloaf was delicious hot/cold, in and out of sandwiches. Reading the reviews I,too,opted to cube the Swiss cheese so it wouldn't get lost. Added 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt. I used my slow cooker to cook this, placing the meatloaf on a trivet to allow the fat to drip to the bottom. My slow cooker runs on the hot side and the meatloaf was done in 5 1/2 hours on Low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katycooks1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I would give this five stars if it wasn't for the high fat content. I made this tonight when I just wanted something a little different. It was very good. It is more time consuming then regular meatloaf though. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States