Bacon Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was a very good recipe but I made some changes. First I cooked the chicken in a smaller dish, cooked the thick cut bacon for three minutes in microwave before topping the chix and finally broiled the chix and bacon for 2 minutes at end. It was a beautiful golden brown. Nobody likes limp bacon. You must add flour to the drippings or it will be extremely greasy. Add as much flour as needed to soak up grease and don't take out the mushrooms. Add more heavy cream to make sauce. You want extra of this sauce!! This makes a wonderful sauce and I am an expert gravy maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Oh goodness, this recipe is great! Very little prep work for such a great entree! I cut off the bone in the breast before cooking because I don't like having to do it while I'm eating. (I still left the skin on too keep the chicken moist.) Also, I'm actually a little health concious (trying to cut the fat where I can without sacrificing taste). I used PAM spray instead of the 2 tablespoons of butter. It didn't effect the taste at all. I used a teaspoon of seasoning salt and 1 clove of garlic for EACH chicken breast to give it more flavor. I cooked for about 30 minutes in the oven instead of the 45-60 as recommended. Then I brushed off the mushrooms off the chicken to the sides of the dish and placed under a broiler for 5 more minutes (to crisp the skin and bacon). I also added a little bit of cornstarch/water slurry to the sauce after I added the cream to help the thicken the sauce. But it came out wonderfully after a little bit of tweaking. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I used skinless boneless breasts and the family really enjoyed this dish. The sauce at the end is a must, do not skip that part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Easy and delicious. Sauce was too runny, next time I'll thicken it with a bit of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Because I had previously tried a butter chicken recipe and found it to be bland, I marinated this chicken with a lemon pepper marinate about 2 hours prior to cooking. I used Mrs. Dash with Garlic as the seasoning and rubbed black pepper on the bacon. I used a full 4 oz. can of sliced mushrooms and sprinkled the entire dish with a little mozarella cheese about 10 minutes before removing from the oven. This was the best dish I've tried thus far and it's going in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This was very quick to prepare and easy to make. Best of all you can make it with things you already have on hand. I did use 1/3 cup half and half, 1/3 cup whole milk and 1-1/2 tablespoon flour to replace the cream. I also put the mushrooms and bacon in with the drippings to make the sauce. I was in a hurry to get the chicken done so I upped the temp to 375 and placed foil over the top of the pan after baking the chicken for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I used boneless, skinless chicken and worried it wouldn't taste as good- boy was I wrong! This recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Ugh! It was very bland! With everyone's stellar review, I was expecting more! This just turned out to be a fatty greasy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Absolutely excellent! We served it with pasta, which is great with the sauce. More changes I made -- I pre-cooked the bacon to get it crispy, doubled the mushrooms, and used 3/4 or 1 cup of cream to make more sauce. Also, I included the mushrooms in the sauce while cooking and crumbled the bacon into the sauce once it was thick. You most definitely want to make enough sauce to go around -- it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was delicious! And very easy to make! My husband worked outside all afternoon chopping & splitting the wood from the tree that fell on our house a few weeks ago so I knew he'd be hungry. The smell of this cooking in the oven was fabulous - what doesn't smell and taste great with bacon??!! I seemed to have quite a few drippings in the pan, so I added a bit more cream and made some gravy to go on mashed potatoes. We will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States