Bacon Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
WOWSER! After reading reviews here, I made some helpful changes and this was delicious though fattening. I sprayed the pan with Pam instead of butter. I used one garlic clove per boneless, skinless chicken breast and topped it with 2 slices precooked Hormel/Kirkland bacon which means less grease and no rubbery bacon. (I buy it at Costco & it's all I ever buy anymore. Great stuff & it keeps a very long time in the frig.) I also baked only 30 minutes since I was using boned and skinned chicken breast. I would suggest doubling the mushrooms (I used baby portabellos) and I did use 1 cup of heavy cream and if you are doing more breast, you could use a pint. Next time I will use 1/2 & 1/2. I served it with butternut squash ravioli and a salad and bread. Decadent. This will go into my rotation. Thanks so much. mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
a keeper for our house!! used skinless, boneless chicken breast and used butter flavored cooking spray instead of the butter..thickened the broth with cornstarch to give it a more gravy consistency, served over rice and dinner was done.. hubby loves it.. will make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was excellent! I used more mushrooms than called for and also boneless, skinless breasts so I cut down on the cook time. I didn't pre cook the bacon at all, I wanted all the bacon grease:) But when it was finished cooking I crisped up the bacon in the microwave and crumled it on top. I also added some flour to the pan drippings to thicken up the sauce after reading other reviews. We ate it over spaghetti noodles and it was absolutely DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I only had boneless skinless chicken breasts to use, so was wondering if I would have enough drippings to make the "gravy". I used 3 slices of bacon for each piece of chicken and had plenty...added the mushrooms to the sauce before pouring over the chicken...a delicious and rather impressive entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I didnt like this at ALL....but my family liked it better than I did. I would have given it a one star because I didnt like the smokey flavour the bacon gave the gravy....it seemed to overpower everything. I think I focused on that flavour though....so it wrecked it for me. I was disappointed. Family gave it 3 stars. I gave it one....averaged it out to a 2 star rating. not for us, but MANY others did so it just must not be our families taste is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Mersereau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I did not do well with this recipe. My sauce turned into a clumped mess. That was fine, we just ate it without, but I felt the chicken was way too salty. Not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
My husband and I both thought this recipe was great! The sauce sets it off and we added mushrooms to ours. We also used chicken breasts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
my friends and roommates totally ate this up! must've been the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Can't say anything bad about this recipe, delicious enough to think you'd find it in a restaurant. Only thing I changed was to add just a little bit of chopped green onions/chived at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States