Bacon Mushroom Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
As is, 4 stars. Was good, but too bland for our tastes, and a bit too time consuming. SO, I just made it again, but this time I used boneless chicken, sliced into even and large bite sized pieces. I seasoned it with smoked chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Fried the bacon, removed, added a little butter to the bacon drippings and sauteed/fried up the chicken. Added some mushrooms and cooked until done. Removed chicken and mushrooms and set aside with bacon. Added cream to pan drippings, cooked down a bit. Added meats and mushrooms back to pan to reheat and voila! Took it from 4 to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This dish is AWESOME! My husband and I absolutely loved it. We put it over some leftover rice from the other night and what didn't end up being dinner ended up being his lunch today. I doubled the amount of bacon for two reasons: I'm a stereotypical-bacon-loving-American and it bothered me that the chicken wasn't covered by the bacon. Anyways, awesome dish and I'm sure I will be making it often in the future. The only thing is that I didn't wait long enough for the sauce to thicken and I also didn't have a whisk, which really hindered that but the soupy sauce was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sk
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I didn't want to wait for this, so I did the sauce with more butter and added flour and better than bouillon chicken flavored. I used already cooked bacon, diced chicken breast uncooked and mushrooms. I cooked the noodles while the chicken finished cooking on the stove. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe as is, then tried it again changing it slightly. I give the recipe as is 3 stars. The 2nd time I tried this, I used boneless skinless chicken breast and I cooked the bacon separately on stove top in a frying pan. Added the bacon bacon drippings to a small pot, along with the chicken drippings and make the sauce that way, adding in the mushrooms and chopped bacon. I would give this way 5 stars, very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Big hit with my family! The only thing I did differently was doubled the sauce, but I probably didn't even need to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Delicious recipe. The flavor is wonderful. I followed the recipe but the only thing I did different is add cornstarch to the sauce because no matter how much I whipped the heavy cream with the juice, it didn't get thick. Other than that I am happy. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Disappointing, almost flavorless. I drained the grease before I made the sauce and it turned out as thick as pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Not a fan. I'm not afraid of dietary fat, in fact I was impressed the recipe called for bone-in chicken with the skin instead of lifeless, boneless skinless chicken breasts. But this was too much fat. It's just fat on fat on fat with no herbs/spices or acid to counter balance all the fat. Maybe use a balsamic or white wine reduction instead of the cream sauce. Serve with some sauteed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Edible, but not a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Get some real chicken from a small local farm who raises real chickens outside like we all used to do. Aside from that, thanks for the simple recipe for busy people like me! I did use a whole chicken, seasoned and otherwise cooked like this and it is very good. I can't consume dairy so I made my sauce with flour and chicken stock, doubled, because I like sauce of just about any kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States