Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Make sure you crumble crisp bacon well and put in close to the time that you serve this salad so it will be nice and crisp. The celery takes the place of lettuce, and the macaroni takes the place of bread. Walla.....you have a BLT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This really is good. I used reduced fat mayo and cheddar and center cut bacon to lighten it, and it tastes delicious. The white vinegar really gives a little tang to the mayo-based dressing. I did squeeze out some of the tomato seeds and juice for fear of it thinning out the dressing. I agree with the last reviewer, add the bacon right before serving, otherwise, it will get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
made this for lunch @ work, got rave reviews. Must use real mayo but you can 1/2 it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Okay, this is like the best food ever. The husband, who is not a fan of macaroni salads loved it. I made no changes to the recipe and it was delicious. I was thinking I might add a seeded cucumber next time, but it is perfect as is. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I liked this recipe very much! I'm always counting my calories so I used light mayo, nobody noticed the difference, try it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Very nice salad, however I didn't find the lettuce. I assume you serve it over a bed of chopped lettuce. I also added halved cherry tomatoes (kept it cleaner and tidy) and diced hard-boiled eggs (my husband's request). I also included some fresh dill (our love). I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is a perfect combination for a macaroni salad! I have to say to the reviewer that said she couldn't find the lettuce that I have never before heard of a macaroni salad with lettuce, though it would certainly be pretty sitting on top of a leaf. I do like the idea of adding the hard boiled eggs though and will next time. I have to wonder who determined that dill pickles and jalapeno are mandatory in such a dish. Ugh. Delicious salad and thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I made this recipe today and it tasted great, but I did make some changes. I was trying to use up some produce I had on hand, so I used the following: 1/2 cup chopped leeks instead of green onions, 12 oz. rainbow rotini instead of elbow (did have elbow on hand), I used red wine vinegar (like so much better than white), 4 roma tomatoes, seeded instead of large, 1/2 orange pepper, diced, 2 T. fresh parlsey, 1/2 cup pre-cooked bacon, 1 tsp. Mural of Flavor seasoning -salt free (from Penzey's Spices)Just bought it and thought it would add that little something I think some people said it was missing, no salt, all other ingredients stayed the same, It made about 1/2 gallon of salad. Very colorful and I'm waiting till flavors meld and it sits in refrigerator before adjusting seasonings, if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Really enjoyed this. The only change I made was to use grape tomatoes and cut them into quarters....no need to seed. Reminds me of the traditional Midwestern macaroni salad my grandmother made when I was a kid. This is no nonsense....no relish, no red or green peppers, no pimentos, no eggs and no sugar. I'm sure you could add one or more of the above BUT there is no need for it. The green onion makes the salad crunchy and the last minutes addition of the bacon makes this a true winner. I will repeat what another reviewers said, "I will never again buy premade grocery store macaroni salad". Additionally, a nice change from the oil and vinegar-based pasta salads that I have been making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I used cut cherry tomatoes cut in half and more celery than the original recipe. Everyone loved it! Might turn out to be my favorite pasta salad. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States