Bacon Gravy for Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I pretty much doubled the amount of everything, used 7 slices of thick cut bacon. It was a little thick so I added about half a cup of Pepperidge Farm Chicken Gravy (had it in the fridge) more milk as needed. Also, lots of black pepper and onion powder, about a few pinches of seasoned salt. Good over Bisquick Bisquits and left over fried chicken, server with steamemed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Good basic recipe. I used the 2/2/2 formula and added tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe, but crumbled the whole package of bacon into the gravy, I think I am now getting jewelry for my birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Good concept, but the preportions are off....if you use 3 Tbsp bacon drippings, 3 Tbsp flour and 3 cups of milk, you'll get a good gravy consistancy....BUT...you have to add the milk gradually, about 1/3 cup at a time and stir it constantly over a med to low heat. You can increase or decrease the amount of gravy you need, but keep your preportions equal....Ex. 4 Tbsp bacon Drippins, 4 Tbsp flour, 4 cups milk, etc.... Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I admit that the first time I heard of this was when I was dating my husband, who grew up in Michigan but with southern roots, I thought he was CRAZY. I tried and tried to make it for him, without success, until one of his cousins, as a joke (making fun of this northerner) sent me an audio tape (it was 1972) but as he went step by step, for the first time it all made sense. I drain all but 2 - 3 T of the bacon grease and add about equal amounts of flour. Stir it to a smooth paste (I like to let mine just start to get a very light tan color) long enough to cook the "raw" taste out of the flour. (if you don't have quite enough bacon grease, for the times I use the saved grease .... I stir in just a bit of butter) Add the milk slowly, while stirring, and let it cook to thicken. If it gets too thick... stir in a little more milk ... if it is too thin, just cook it a little longer while stirring. It takes a little practice, and gets to be easier as you just learn the "feel" for it! I said I thought he was crazy???? It didn't take me long to fight him for my fair share!!! Now I am hungry... off to make some eggs and gravy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is so easy. I love b & g but have a hard time finding good versions at LA-area restaurants. Now I don't have to worry about it anymore. I also like this recipe because it makes cleaning up the bacon pan easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I followed the advice of raouglysgirl and it turned out excellent. Kellylee you added the milk too slowly or not enough. I find if you pour the milk continuously and slow while whisking, it smoothes the lumps and doesn't turn to glue. I also added the bacon back in as soon as it returned to a simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I'm a yankee girl and don't know much about biscuits and gravy, but this recipe was easy, tasty, and no where near as salty-tasting as I was anticipating. I used five thin slices of bacon that produced a lot of grease. After removing the bacon, I turned off the heat, gradually added the flour, then started the heat up again as I added the cold milk (I eyeballed the milk, not sure if I used more or less than a cup, just watched for the gravy to lighten in color and reach the appropriate thickness). I had accidentally let the bacon cook a little long and worried that it might taste a bit burnt, but it didn't! Used Anne's Baking Powder Biscuits I recipe from this website because of the (lack of) ingredients I had on hand. Though not necessarily a "traditional" southern breakfast, it was still tasty and my Texas-raised partner was satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jzgb34
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
this reminds me of my father in laws gravy, even though he does it quite differently. i've made this several times, if you follow the recipe exactly your gravy will turn out with a nice consistency, if you are like me and add extra bacon it might not from too much grease. If you like it thinner, add more milk because it thickens up pretty quick. nice, simple, and just what i had been searching for, thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jzgb34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
like grandma taught me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

How to Cook Bacon

See three easy ways to sizzle your bacon: stovetop, oven, and microwave.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States