Bacon Gravy for Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Love the recipe, just like i have made for years, can't go wrong over a homemade biscuit!! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Kelly Adkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This is the perfect way to make bacon and sausage gravy. Some meats are pretty lean though so you do need to make sure there is enough fat to match your flour, tbsp to tbsp. This is THE GRAVY recipe. Occasionally I add a tsp of sugar to change it up a little, other than that, this is the only country gravy recipe I ever use. In the cases where there may not be enough drippings just add the appropriate amount of butter (not margarine-EVER). I always use a fork for the stirring but a whisk is the best tool. It does require a lot of whisking and make sure you cook the flour for about 2 minutes prior to slowly whisking in your milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I didn't really change anything per se, but I did have to add a wee bit more flour and milk to account for the amount of bacon grease I had. We used a cheaper fattier bacon and so it made a lot of grease. Other than that, I didn't change anything. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IceQueen2All
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Only yields enough for maybe 2 full biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I pretty much doubled the amount of everything, used 7 slices of thick cut bacon. It was a little thick so I added about half a cup of Pepperidge Farm Chicken Gravy (had it in the fridge) more milk as needed. Also, lots of black pepper and onion powder, about a few pinches of seasoned salt. Good over Bisquick Bisquits and left over fried chicken, server with steamemed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Good basic recipe. I used the 2/2/2 formula and added tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe, but crumbled the whole package of bacon into the gravy, I think I am now getting jewelry for my birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Good concept, but the preportions are off....if you use 3 Tbsp bacon drippings, 3 Tbsp flour and 3 cups of milk, you'll get a good gravy consistancy....BUT...you have to add the milk gradually, about 1/3 cup at a time and stir it constantly over a med to low heat. You can increase or decrease the amount of gravy you need, but keep your preportions equal....Ex. 4 Tbsp bacon Drippins, 4 Tbsp flour, 4 cups milk, etc.... Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I admit that the first time I heard of this was when I was dating my husband, who grew up in Michigan but with southern roots, I thought he was CRAZY. I tried and tried to make it for him, without success, until one of his cousins, as a joke (making fun of this northerner) sent me an audio tape (it was 1972) but as he went step by step, for the first time it all made sense. I drain all but 2 - 3 T of the bacon grease and add about equal amounts of flour. Stir it to a smooth paste (I like to let mine just start to get a very light tan color) long enough to cook the "raw" taste out of the flour. (if you don't have quite enough bacon grease, for the times I use the saved grease .... I stir in just a bit of butter) Add the milk slowly, while stirring, and let it cook to thicken. If it gets too thick... stir in a little more milk ... if it is too thin, just cook it a little longer while stirring. It takes a little practice, and gets to be easier as you just learn the "feel" for it! I said I thought he was crazy???? It didn't take me long to fight him for my fair share!!! Now I am hungry... off to make some eggs and gravy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walker, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is so easy. I love b & g but have a hard time finding good versions at LA-area restaurants. Now I don't have to worry about it anymore. I also like this recipe because it makes cleaning up the bacon pan easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

How to Cook Bacon

See three easy ways to sizzle your bacon: stovetop, oven, and microwave.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States