Bacon-Flavored Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I added an extra egg, powdered milk, chicken broth in place of the water, half a jar of peanut butter, and crumbled bacon. I also used 1 cup of rolled oats in place of 3/4 cup of the whole wheat flour. The beauty of this recipe is that you can add in just about anything that can be mixed easily, and it will work. Used part rendered beef fat since I only had 3 strips of bacon. I wasn't up to rolling and cutting, so I just rolled little balls and flattened them to bake. You can pack them closely together on the baking sheet, since they don't expand as they bake. Remember to store in the fridge, as they don't contain preservatives and will get moldy in time. I feel good about giving these out as treats because they're all natural and I know exactly what went into them. My Westie, my daughter's mixed breed and her boyfriend's puggle will do back flips to get their jaws around one of these! Edited to add:No need to buy bacon. Save all trimmings from steak, chicken (plus skin,) pork,etc. in the freezer. When you have a handful or two, render (fry on low for about 15-20 minutes to melt off the fat.) Chop up the pieces left in the rendering pan and put them in the mix with the rendered fat. No expensive bacon needed. That's stuff you'd normally throw in the trash. You're recycling, AND your doggie will go nuts - promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
my dogs love this and other dogs do too. Even fussy dogs. I don't use eggs or milk, and add a teaspoon of baking powder. will try adding corn meal next time. I flatten the dough with my palm, bake, and leave the pan of biscuits in the oven after turning the oven off so that the biscuits get hard and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
These were great, according to my dogs ;-) Both dogs loved them. I diced up a pound of bacon and cooked it adding the bacon bits along with the fat. I increased the recipe size then added more fat and bacon. It was a hit! I refrigerated the leftovers and even froze some... thinking my dogs wouldn't eat them so quickly. They were gone within the week! I'm making more today at my dogs request!! Oh, I also wanted to mention that salt is not healthy for dogs so I'd advise omitting it from the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Made these just now and my dog loves them! I tried them myself just to see what they tasted like, and from a human perspective they were a little too floury and bland, but I'm sure in the canine world it doesn't matter much! I didn't add the salt because the bacon has so much salt in it already, but I did finely chop up 1 piece of bacon and added about 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese, and I also flattened them with the bottom of a glass. And lastly, since after tasting them I thought they were bland, I decided to baste the top of each one with some leftover bacon grease, like icing! Great recipe, and in moderation the ingredients are not bad for your furry friends! 2/21/12: Made these again today and didn't have quite enough bacon grease, so I added 1/2 smashed banana and left the rest of the ingredients the same. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
FUN! I made these as a project with my three year old niece, and she LOVED helping add the flour and the impromptu extra seasonings (like garlic powder and parsley.) She's even mastered the levers on my stand mixer which we used (dough hook) to mix it all up. The dough was not greasy like I thought it would be, and we hand-pressed it flat and used bone-shaped cookie cutters. They baked perfectly in 35 minutes, and somehow my dog knew these were for him when I took them out of the oven. I am thinking about selling these at a farmers' market this summer! Fun, fast, easy, kid-friendly baking recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I was looking for recipes because I ran out of biscuits. I made a baked ham in the crock pot and had left over drippings. I substitued this for the water and bacon fat and ommitted the salt. My 120 pound Akita is in heaven. I also rolled the dough out on a floured board and used a dog cookie cutter. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
All of my friends have dogs and when we get together, everyone brings them along. When I brought out the batch of biscuits there was a swarm of dog's all around me! I couldn't get them to leave me alone! To be funny, I used a cat shaped cookie cutter to make the biscuts in the shape of cats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
well this is the doggy treat recipe i decided to use ... and i KNOW my sadiedawg really liked them...so will make them for her again and again am sure...thanks for the recipe but it did put in crumbled bacon tho too and used my doggy cookies cutters in the shape of a dog bone...she was very happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made these for my family for their dogs at Christmas. They were easy to make.....but they gave all the dogs the runs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daughter of Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Because I don't save my bacon grease, I went to a diner and asked them for some. I ran out of wheat flour, so i filled up the remaining 5 c of flour with cornmeal and white flour. The dogs love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States