Bacon-Flavored Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
My husband & I constantly argue about the amount of $$ that we spend on our pets, so I was looking for an alternative to store bought cookies. I read all of the reviews first & decided to substitute beef broth for the water & to add crumbled bacon for a little more flavor. Our 4 outside dogs gobbled them down!!!! I doubled the batch & ended up with 70 medium sized cookies -- which will only last @ one week with our gang. My husband is happy & so are the pups!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe is absolutely AWESOME!!! I have changed the recipe some. I cooked some bacon and chopped it up, added some cheddar cheese, and I also rolled out the dough and used a bone shaped cookie cutter. My dogs stay in the kitchen while I make them. After I give them one, they follow me to the kitchen when ever I go. They think that they will get one of these tasty TREATS every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
These turned out really nice! A very picky German Shepherd who will refuse brand name treats loved these!! I used chicken broth in place of the water, added 5 slices of crumbled bacon, and omitted the salt. I will definitely be making these often, Buddy loved them..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These are great but I did add grated carrots. Dogs loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These were great and super easy to make! I had teany tiny ones for training my dog. I used regular flour instead of whole wheate. This recipe is great for toying around with (you can add anything!) and my dog loves these much better than the store-bought kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
My dogs go crazy over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Funk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My dogs freaked for these!! I used spelt flour and also used chicken broth for the water, I crumbled the bacon I fried into the treats as well. I rolled these out and cut hearts for valentines day, they worked perfect!! I gave these to all my friends for valentines day, their dogs were sooo happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snitzie'smom
Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My dogs LOVE these! They are okay with peanut butter treats, but these they won't stop begging for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKIEMARIE
Home Town: Waubeka, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I added an extra egg, powdered milk, chicken broth in place of the water, half a jar of peanut butter, and crumbled bacon. I also used 1 cup of rolled oats in place of 3/4 cup of the whole wheat flour. The beauty of this recipe is that you can add in just about anything that can be mixed easily, and it will work. Used part rendered beef fat since I only had 3 strips of bacon. I wasn't up to rolling and cutting, so I just rolled little balls and flattened them to bake. You can pack them closely together on the baking sheet, since they don't expand as they bake. Remember to store in the fridge, as they don't contain preservatives and will get moldy in time. I feel good about giving these out as treats because they're all natural and I know exactly what went into them. My Westie, my daughter's mixed breed and her boyfriend's puggle will do back flips to get their jaws around one of these! Edited to add:No need to buy bacon. Save all trimmings from steak, chicken (plus skin,) pork,etc. in the freezer. When you have a handful or two, render (fry on low for about 15-20 minutes to melt off the fat.) Chop up the pieces left in the rendering pan and put them in the mix with the rendered fat. No expensive bacon needed. That's stuff you'd normally throw in the trash. You're recycling, AND your doggie will go nuts - promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
well this is the doggy treat recipe i decided to use ... and i KNOW my sadiedawg really liked them...so will make them for her again and again am sure...thanks for the recipe but it did put in crumbled bacon tho too and used my doggy cookies cutters in the shape of a dog bone...she was very happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States