Bacon-Flavored Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
These turned out really nice! A very picky German Shepherd who will refuse brand name treats loved these!! I used chicken broth in place of the water, added 5 slices of crumbled bacon, and omitted the salt. I will definitely be making these often, Buddy loved them..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These are great but I did add grated carrots. Dogs loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These were great and super easy to make! I had teany tiny ones for training my dog. I used regular flour instead of whole wheate. This recipe is great for toying around with (you can add anything!) and my dog loves these much better than the store-bought kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
My dogs go crazy over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
My dogs freaked for these!! I used spelt flour and also used chicken broth for the water, I crumbled the bacon I fried into the treats as well. I rolled these out and cut hearts for valentines day, they worked perfect!! I gave these to all my friends for valentines day, their dogs were sooo happy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snitzie'smom
Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My dogs LOVE these! They are okay with peanut butter treats, but these they won't stop begging for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKIEMARIE
Home Town: Waubeka, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I added an extra egg, powdered milk, chicken broth in place of the water, half a jar of peanut butter, and crumbled bacon. I also used 1 cup of rolled oats in place of 3/4 cup of the whole wheat flour. The beauty of this recipe is that you can add in just about anything that can be mixed easily, and it will work. Used part rendered beef fat since I only had 3 strips of bacon. I wasn't up to rolling and cutting, so I just rolled little balls and flattened them to bake. You can pack them closely together on the baking sheet, since they don't expand as they bake. Remember to store in the fridge, as they don't contain preservatives and will get moldy in time. I feel good about giving these out as treats because they're all natural and I know exactly what went into them. My Westie, my daughter's mixed breed and her boyfriend's puggle will do back flips to get their jaws around one of these! Edited to add:No need to buy bacon. Save all trimmings from steak, chicken (plus skin,) pork,etc. in the freezer. When you have a handful or two, render (fry on low for about 15-20 minutes to melt off the fat.) Chop up the pieces left in the rendering pan and put them in the mix with the rendered fat. No expensive bacon needed. That's stuff you'd normally throw in the trash. You're recycling, AND your doggie will go nuts - promise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
well this is the doggy treat recipe i decided to use ... and i KNOW my sadiedawg really liked them...so will make them for her again and again am sure...thanks for the recipe but it did put in crumbled bacon tho too and used my doggy cookies cutters in the shape of a dog bone...she was very happy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My two Cocker Spaniels love this recipe! I rolled it out and cut with small cookie cutters. It makes a large batch so I froze them in a Lock & Lock and only took about one cup out at a time. They kept well for at least two weeks. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Made these just now and my dog loves them! I tried them myself just to see what they tasted like, and from a human perspective they were a little too floury and bland, but I'm sure in the canine world it doesn't matter much! I didn't add the salt because the bacon has so much salt in it already, but I did finely chop up 1 piece of bacon and added about 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese, and I also flattened them with the bottom of a glass. And lastly, since after tasting them I thought they were bland, I decided to baste the top of each one with some leftover bacon grease, like icing! Great recipe, and in moderation the ingredients are not bad for your furry friends! 2/21/12: Made these again today and didn't have quite enough bacon grease, so I added 1/2 smashed banana and left the rest of the ingredients the same. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States