Bacon-Flavored Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Sam
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
My daughter and I made these for our 2 dogs. They loved them!! The only thing we changed was adding some bacon bits. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I must say that I was worried about the texture until the very last cup of whole wheat flour was added. The only change I made to the recipe was using chicken broth in lieu of water, only because I had it. If I hadn't, I would have just used water. It was very much like mixing peanut butter cookie dough--works out the biceps! The consistency was awesome for my purposes. I separated it into thirds and added red food coloring to 1/3 and green to 1/3. I made "original color" snowmen and "gingerbread" boys and girls, red candy canes and green Christmas trees. My husband just HAD to taste one, and he said they were very bland and tasted like nothing. LeeLoo (my doggie), however, is a picky eater (won't even eat dog treats!) and LOVED them! **** 4 (out of 5) star review. I took one star off because they take 35 minutes (supposedly) to bake, BUT I accidentally halved the time on one batch and doubled the time on another, and the doubled ones were burnt black (grr!) but the halved ones were just fine. SO I think if you do them cookie-cutter style like I did (roll out to 1/4 inch and use cutters), you could cut the time down by half. :n)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy The Magnificent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Newark Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My Granddog, an Australia Shepherd, just about attacks me when we go to visit. He knows I will have his treats. I've never seen a dog so wild over a treat like these. I use about 7 T of bacon fat (which I freeze till I accumulate enough) and the rest liquid Crisco, 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I roll the dough to about 1/4 inch thickness and use a large shot glass for a cutter. It is about 2 inch's in diameter. The dough rolls very nicely, not at all sticky. They are so easy to make . I bake them for about 39 minutes. It makes about 85 to 90. I freeze them as we only use them when Boomer visits us or we visit him. So I really give these treats 10 stars. I know Boomer would too. He sneezes for his treats and starts to sneeze constantly. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is the best dough I've ever used for dog biscuits. Very easy to handle. I just formed balls and then flattened them just a little bit. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I modified this recipe as well, by leaving out the salt due to the fact there is salt in the bacon. I also rolled it out in a long log roll then took another basic treat recipe (dog treats l ) and wrapped it around the log and cut into 2 inch pieces. This gives my little terrier both her favorite flavors in one. bone-appetit:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Total smash as is. Our Lola loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
my labs absolutely loved these!! in fact they were looking at the stove wanting more. i did add 1/2 cup shredded cheese and garlic powder and parsley, but they have been eating them up!! Great recipe, thank you so much,Sadie and Bella thank you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
My husband & I constantly argue about the amount of $$ that we spend on our pets, so I was looking for an alternative to store bought cookies. I read all of the reviews first & decided to substitute beef broth for the water & to add crumbled bacon for a little more flavor. Our 4 outside dogs gobbled them down!!!! I doubled the batch & ended up with 70 medium sized cookies -- which will only last @ one week with our gang. My husband is happy & so are the pups!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe is absolutely AWESOME!!! I have changed the recipe some. I cooked some bacon and chopped it up, added some cheddar cheese, and I also rolled out the dough and used a bone shaped cookie cutter. My dogs stay in the kitchen while I make them. After I give them one, they follow me to the kitchen when ever I go. They think that they will get one of these tasty TREATS every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
These turned out really nice! A very picky German Shepherd who will refuse brand name treats loved these!! I used chicken broth in place of the water, added 5 slices of crumbled bacon, and omitted the salt. I will definitely be making these often, Buddy loved them..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States