Bacon-Flavored Dog Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
my dog didnt like this but i tasted it and it tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Im a lawson
Living In: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Love making these because the recipe is so versatile. I use 1/2 the batter at a time and freeze the rest in a flat patty. Since they don't spread, I put them on a silpat sheet in fairly large balls and flatten them. I turn them over at 20 minutes, and leave em in the oven to dry out a bit. I break the cookies up before storing them in the fridge. My GSD plants herself in front of the fridge as a "hint" several times a day, for cookies, and these are ones she specially likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I made these for my family for their dogs at Christmas. They were easy to make.....but they gave all the dogs the runs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daughter of Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I gave this one 5 stars but I didn't eat any of them! Left out the bacon and added chicken fat instead. The puppy next door went nutso over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My pup is loving these biscuits but I like others made several changes so it is difficult to review the recipe. I omitted the milk, used rendered chicken fat instead of bacon fat. I was out of whole wheat flour so I used white, cornmeal & rolled oats. Additionally, I added a few tbsps of peanut butter and one banana. Prior to baking I brushed each biscuit with chicken fat for added flavor. He's loving them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CairdeasFrenchies
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Great recipe! My French Bulldogs LOVE this biscuit~ I went a step further and lightly cooked 1lb of bacon, diced it fine as I could and added it along with the fat it produced to a DOUBLE batch of this recipe...the 1lb didnt quite give me enough oil so I used vegetable oil for the rest. I also used broth instead of water. You wanna dice your bacon fine or use a food processor if you plan to use cookie cutters because the bits of bacon in your way is annoying! Also, I added the flour in a little at a time and decided my dough didn't need all the recipe called for & the salt I omitted completley. The dogs went NUTS for these biscuits but make sure to keep them in the fridge, freeze some as they go mould fast even in a ziploc at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CairdeasFrenchies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
It is funny how my precious Libby knew they were for her. I have never seen her sit at the oven while I am taking out a dish. She just set there, wagging her tail like hurry up mommy. Now she is so spoiled. I have used peanut butter when I have no bacon grease and she knew they were for her too. I did change the recipe after I tried it the first time. It got so dry it was hard to handle, so now I mix with all purpose flour and it is a lot easier to handle. I roll the dough out and cut with a pizza cutter. I found I get a lot more that way. Leave it in the oven over night to make sure they are dried out and store them in container. If they are not dried out they will mold. So make sure they dry out before putting them in the container. My dog thanks you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherida Myers DeWitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osage City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe. I make it almost once a week. It is versatile, sometimes I use white flour or substitute corn meal for some of the flour. I don't make bacon very often so I save grease from hamburger or leftover oil with the crispies from frying chicken or pork chops. I have a bowl in the fridge for grease that I save up until I am ready to bake. I also throw a jar or two of meat baby food if I don't have enough grease. Word of warning, my dogs will not eat store bought biscuits now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were a hit with our three dogs. And since we eat a lot of bacon, I love having a way to use the grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
The dog loves them! I made a few revisions. Along with bacon, I added a jar of beef baby food, chicken broth for water, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1 cp peanut butter. My first batch baked at 350F for 35, they came out looking burnt. The second, I bake at 200F for 30 mins and then turned the oven off, leaving the cookies in the oven till cool. Tips: roll out small batches at a time as not to overwork the dough. I made 70 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States