Bacon Feta Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My husband and I loved this. It is a wonderful alternative to plain green beans. I had left over bacon from breakfast. I substituted butter for the bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Really yummy. I would recommend fresh green beans. Just steam until tender. They were a great addition to my Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hailey, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My family really liked this recipe. This was a terrific change from plain string beans. I had to adjust the timing for the beans to cook but I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Wow, these were the best! I've tried many recipes with fresh green beans from my garden, and I can't find anything to give them enough flavor. This was it! My husband even liked them, and he's hard to please with vegetables! I only made 1/2 of the green beans that I had picked in case we didn't like them, but I was regretting not making them all. It was so easy- I steamed them, sprayed them with olive oil, and added the onion powder, bacon bits, and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bernie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trinidad, Colorado, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Good, but not great. This needs slight modifications...I have a new microwave and my beans did not cook in 3 minutes. Wish I would have tasted one before adding to the pan. This needs more garlic and onion. Next time I try this I will steam fresh beans and use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I scaled this for 12 on Easter, and it was a huge hit. I had tested it out the night before on a couple girlfriends and made a couple changes that I believe really helped the dish. 1) Increased the garlic (doubled it) 2) Chopped a medium onion up and threw it in the pan just as the bacon was finishing cooking. Then when I threw the bacon in with the beans the onions went in too. Combined with the garlic it gave it just the flavors it needed. It was such a hit everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was great! I used turkey bacon and did not put onion powder in because I did not have any. I will make sure I have it next time as I think it would only make it better. I also put a bit more minced garlic in because my fiance and I love garlic. Real bacon would make it better but we're watching our weight and that's all we had. To keep it warm while I made other things, I put it in an aluminum pan and put it in the oven on 250F for 10 min. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this for Valentines Day & it turned out great. It was quick & easy. I ended up getting the cut green beans that self steam in the bag in the microwave. I think they were by Jolly Green Giant. The shortest cooking time was 6 min. so I put it in for 5 1/2 min then added it to the bacon & garlic & added the cheese. And cooked it about 1 1/2min so the cheese didn't clump. I plan on making it again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annastasiav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was an awesome recipe. The only thing I'd change would be to use canned green beans, frozen were just too crunchy. That's more a personal preference, tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States