Bacon, Egg, and Cheese Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
It fed 5 people and I got the best atta girl ever Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Very good! Added more bacon and cheese than called for. Also made it once with just milk and it was delicious. Needed a little more spice, so added some hot sauce and seasoned salt & pepper the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Euphoric Monkey
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
OMG this was delicious . The whole family devoured it. I added about an extra cup of cheese and a bit more bacon then called for. Also I grated some more cheese to sprinkle on top before I put it in the oven. This was probably the best breakfast dish I have ever made. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Pretty bland! Definitely needs something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe with the exception of adding more bacon. It was tasty, but too dry -- I will use less bread next time, and will also try using milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 to save a few calories. I'll also try other ingredients such as ham instead of the bacon, and maybe some diced green chiles. It's good enough to try again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Great base recipe for a breakfast bake. I used whole milk instead (what I had on hand). Added some salt, pepper, and dried parsley to the egg mix. Also used whole pound cooked and crumbled bacon, left out mushrooms, and added sautéed onions and bell peppers. I will definitely be using this base in the future. Will try sausage, ham, and other veggie combinations. I will be using 1lb of whatever meat I use though (1/4 cup is definitely not enough!). Easy to tailor to your own taste. Guests loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I use the following: regular sandwich bread, 2% milk instead of the half-and-half, and depending what mood I'm in, I'll add chopped green peppers and onions that had been sautéed in the residue of whatever breakfast meat I decided to use. This recipe is great with crumbled sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was dry and not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann P
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was yummy! I used 12 slices of bacon, no mustard nor mushrooms. I let it cook about 75 mins until the center looked as fluffy as the edges, and then let it rest about 10-15 mins. It was crispy on the edges yet fluffy and perfect on the inside. Very good start to our Christmas morning! I'll use this again with different flavor ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
The main reason this dish is bland is the missing spices. You need to add salt and pepper at a minimum. Def needs extra cheese and bacon. I always add garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, pinch of cayenne, etc. As for extras, I like jalapenos, onions, bell peppers, broccoli, sausage- well I could add just about anything. This is really just a base to make into your masterpiece. I really like the idea of using stuffing or hash browns in lieu of bread. Be creative! Use what your family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States