Bacon Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I COOKED THESE ON A COOKIE SHEET AND THE CRACKERS SOAKED UP A LOT OF GREASE. EVERYTHING THAT DIDN'T ENDED UP ON THE BOTTOM OF MY OVEN. THE TASTE WASN'T SO GREAT AND WHAT A MESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
In the South, this is also a variation on "pig candy." My friends & I prefer the savory version, also called "Bow Ties": wrap the bacon around Club-style crackers & sprinkle w/ Parmesan cheese. As the bacon cooks, it shrinks, & the cracker resembles a bow tie. Depending on your bacon (quality/thickness), they could possibly bake up to 2 hrs, even. These keep incredibly well for several days in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Have made these many times and found out from the beginning it does not take ANYWHERE near the whole pound of brown sugar. For the last batch I used the new oval crackers with a "rim". Worked GREAT. I also add a bit of cayenne and black pepper to the brown sugar before "lightly" sprinkling over bacon....now you have sweet, salty, smoky AND spicy!!!! Have also mixed some Penzey's Fox Point seasoning with the sugar before baking. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I really enjoyed this simple recipe! I followed the directions exactly and was a bit nervous but they are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Made these for an ornament party I had last night. At first, I thought, these just look like a cracker with bacon on them. After I ate one or two they grew on me. Bacon got really crisp and brown sugar added a nice sweetness to it. Be careful because some of mine got a tad too burnt on bottom. Did not get asked for the recipe, though. That's usually my rule of thumb whether I make something again. Easy and good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I found that the crackers were just as good after several days and then popped back into the oven. This will be an easy favorite. Good for last minute get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Savory and Sweet. WE all liked it. I used the "Club" crackers instead, because I like them better and I thought the bacon would fit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
We liked these but, you have to watch closely so the crackers don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
These are ok. I liked the simplicity, but I didn't really like the sweet/salty combination. Some family members liked them, so I will try it again. Here are some things I will try next time. I will add some chili powder to the brown sugar to add some spice. I will also cook the crackers on a cooling rack placed in a cookie sheet so the crackers won't soak up so much fat from the bacon. I might also try another reviewer's suggestion and do a few with parmesan instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
What's not to like, salty and sweet all in one!? Only the fat and sugar content! Round crackers should be replaced with oval or rectangular to better accomodate the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States