Bacon Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These were wonderful. Made them for a Christmas gathering. No one could stop eating them. Good thing I made a bunch! I did turn the heat up to 350 for about 10 more minutes just to make them crispy. They were perfect. I used Ritz crackers and just folded the bacon pieces to fit. I used plenty of the brown sugar. I also lined my baking pan with foil for quick clean up. I even made several for myself one evening while my husband had a board meeting. It was a great supper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolateflowers
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
What a pleasant little surprise these crackers are! I only had fat free saltines and 40% reduced fat bacon and it worked out perfectly. I thought the crackers might get soft but they were cooked to perfection. Thanks for this great little recipe Gayle, I'm sure I'll make them often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is very different but good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
My variation: Club crackers sprinkled generously with parmesan, wrap in bacon. Bake 1 hour at 250 on rack placed on baking sheet so bacon drippings can fall. These are so good. I serve them as appetizers at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I don't know how you could go wrong with bacon and brown sugar in any combination. I saw this recipe and just had to try it... as others said, there's NO way you need an entire pound of brown sugar - I topped mine with a generous teaspoon on each. I made a batch with a touch of cayenne and one without, and the unanimous decision was that the cayenne crackers won out. I used just a touch, so it was more of an aftertaste, very subtle. Would try jazzing this up a bit next time using some gourmet crackers and applewood smoked bacon - but even so, they were gone before they even cooled! Will definitely make these again. ***Edit: After the first batch, these have since been known by my friends as "bacon delights" and is easily the most requested item at parties. Sad, really, considering all the other goodies I make. In fact, I have people show up now with a pound of bacon and a box of crackers just so I have no excuse to not make them! I have found that cooking them on a rack inside the cookie sheet works best, they are far less greasy than cooking directly on the cookie sheet. Warning, though...once you make these you'll be making them for life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberjoih

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
These were so/so. I made them for a get together and a few people really liked themand a few didn't care for them. But and easy recipe to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I made these and thought they were awful. The recipe worked fine, it just isn't my cup of tea. The folks I served them to felt the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
These are wonderful, especially when they are hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I have made these for years and just realized that I don't think I've ever reviewed the recipe. Quite simply, these things can ruin your life. They are so easy and so yummy, and so small that you can eat them and eat them and eat them -- and find it hard to stop! I've never made them that I haven't had people clamoring for the recipe. I always use Townhouse Reduced-fat crackers (the bacon adds enough fat to go around) because the oblong shape works well. I also try to cut off the parts of the bacon that are pure fat -- in other words, I like to see as much pink as white in the pieces of bacon I use. I always give them a good, bubbly broil at the end of cooking and transfer each cracker to a cooling rack ASAP, as they will stick to the pan in no time. I've even given them a light dusting of cayenne pepper before cooking for an added kick, but they're great either way. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I was so intrigued by this recipe. Sorry it was just BLAH. I did put them on a rack, didn't have a problem with to much grease but would NOT make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States