Bacon Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Wasn't expecting much out of this recipe because there wasn't that much going into it but boy were we surprised! Delicious. I definitely will be making again. Used thick sliced maple flavored bacon and Townhouse crackers. Baked at 350 since I had another dish in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was one of the most mediocre recipes I've encountered on this site. It wasn't bad, it just tasted like cooked bacon on a cracker. Don't expect some mysterious transformation to an epicurean delight. Bacon cooked on a cracker with a little brown sugar will always taste like bacon cooked on a cracker with brown sugar. No excitement at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Everyone went CRAZY over these at my party. One tip for people who like bacon as lean as possible--don't "wrap" the bacon around the cracker; the bacon on the bottom will still be a litte fatty. Just lay the bacon on top, as in the original recipe. And SPRINKLE just a little brown sugar. Too much, and it won't melt. These are SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
These were easy and delicious! I would highly recommend them as an appetizer for family or parties. So simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very quick & easy......would also be good with cheese sprinkled on top when it comes out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Stafford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
OMG!!!!! I would not change a thing! I used Townhouse Crackers since they are oval to match easier with the bacon. My 2 1/2 yr old was two fisting!!! So easy....just make sure you remove from sheet before they cool or the sugar will harden to the bottom and the cracker will stick. Extremely addicting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I LOVE these when wrapping a club cracker (instead of just "topping" it)!! Awesome, simple. People rave about them and everyone goes - DUH! So eaaaasssssyyy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I have made these before, but was just reminded of them by a friend. My original recipe called for a rectangular cracker, such as a waverly, It's easier to wrap the bacon. The other great thing about my original recipe was that you could make these up to 3 days ahead of time and store them in an airtight container at room temperature. You can serve them right from the tin or heat them up a bit in a low oven right before serving. It's a great make ahead treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I expected the brown sugar to melt and maybe carmelize a bit -- my brown sugar didn't do that at all. I baked at 250 degrees for 1 hour, then added about 15 more minutes, because they didn't look browned and crisp. The bacon is done, but the brown sugar is clumped on top, pretty much looking like I just sprinkled it on. They taste okay, but not what I was expecting. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
This is awesome!! I also made some with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top instead of brown sugar. I could eat the entire pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States