Bacon Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
In the South, this is also a variation on "pig candy." My friends & I prefer the savory version, also called "Bow Ties": wrap the bacon around Club-style crackers & sprinkle w/ Parmesan cheese. As the bacon cooks, it shrinks, & the cracker resembles a bow tie. Depending on your bacon (quality/thickness), they could possibly bake up to 2 hrs, even. These keep incredibly well for several days in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Wow - this one surprised me. I took earlier advice and lined CLUB rectangular crackers (better fit for bacon) on a cookie cooling rack over a baking sheet lined with parchment, just in case of the bacon grease factor. Only made about 30 of them, and that said, used about 8 slices applewood smoked bacon, cut into fourths, and they fit well on the cracker. Did a light dash of cayenne for some heat, then sprinkled with brown sugar, and cooked for an hour. I think you could up the heat a little on your oven (275?), or just broil them at the end to caramelize the brown sugar a little more. The crackers weren't soggy, and they were quite good and easy to make, with hardly any mess or grease on the pan. I think the choice of lean bacon is key to this one. Smokey, sweet, crunchy and little heat from the cayenne. I'll definitely do this one again. Note - for me, they tasted better warm than cold, but they reheat well and quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Have made these many times and found out from the beginning it does not take ANYWHERE near the whole pound of brown sugar. For the last batch I used the new oval crackers with a "rim". Worked GREAT. I also add a bit of cayenne and black pepper to the brown sugar before "lightly" sprinkling over bacon....now you have sweet, salty, smoky AND spicy!!!! Have also mixed some Penzey's Fox Point seasoning with the sugar before baking. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Served these at a party and everyone went GAGA over them! I don't think anybody had less than thirds! I'm glad I made 3 batches!!! We used Club crackers because of the good fit with the bacon slices. Fabulous with light brown sugar & thick sliced bacon! Extremely easy & makes a grand impression!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Everyone went CRAZY over these at my party. One tip for people who like bacon as lean as possible--don't "wrap" the bacon around the cracker; the bacon on the bottom will still be a litte fatty. Just lay the bacon on top, as in the original recipe. And SPRINKLE just a little brown sugar. Too much, and it won't melt. These are SOOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I have made these before, but was just reminded of them by a friend. My original recipe called for a rectangular cracker, such as a waverly, It's easier to wrap the bacon. The other great thing about my original recipe was that you could make these up to 3 days ahead of time and store them in an airtight container at room temperature. You can serve them right from the tin or heat them up a bit in a low oven right before serving. It's a great make ahead treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
These are ok. I liked the simplicity, but I didn't really like the sweet/salty combination. Some family members liked them, so I will try it again. Here are some things I will try next time. I will add some chili powder to the brown sugar to add some spice. I will also cook the crackers on a cooling rack placed in a cookie sheet so the crackers won't soak up so much fat from the bacon. I might also try another reviewer's suggestion and do a few with parmesan instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Wasn't expecting much out of this recipe because there wasn't that much going into it but boy were we surprised! Delicious. I definitely will be making again. Used thick sliced maple flavored bacon and Townhouse crackers. Baked at 350 since I had another dish in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was one of the most mediocre recipes I've encountered on this site. It wasn't bad, it just tasted like cooked bacon on a cracker. Don't expect some mysterious transformation to an epicurean delight. Bacon cooked on a cracker with a little brown sugar will always taste like bacon cooked on a cracker with brown sugar. No excitement at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
What's not to like, salty and sweet all in one!? Only the fat and sugar content! Round crackers should be replaced with oval or rectangular to better accomodate the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States