Bacon Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
No suprise that I burnt the first batch I made! Second time around turned out GREAT! Used Keebler TopEms and followed the recipe directions. Only took about 40 minutes in my toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrBadCookWhoLikes2Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I burned it ...even though I was warned in the comments. The one I did taste that wasn't burned had good flavor but was a bit too dry. I may try this again but not sure I want to watch something so closely when I am entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
These crackers were fabulous! Easy to make and full of flavor. :-) We served them at a party and they were gone quickly. I used 1/4 of a strip of bacon per Club cracker (rectangular), which worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Update: Dash of Cayenne Pepper on top of the brown sugar really adds to this recipe! Made this for an appetizer party. They were the first to go. I had to limit folks to just 3 in order for others to get a taste! They stood by the dish and just threw them in like popcorn. I made them several times since then. Thick sliced bacon makes them chewier. Applewood Black Pepper bacon gives them a nice twist. I must say, that "el-cheapo" bacon and ritz are just fine. :) They are affectionatly known as "heart attack crackers" in my group of friends, but they disappear in minutes. Taking them to a poker party tonight. Since my boyfriend shows up later from work I have to hide a few for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Wow - this one surprised me. I took earlier advice and lined CLUB rectangular crackers (better fit for bacon) on a cookie cooling rack over a baking sheet lined with parchment, just in case of the bacon grease factor. Only made about 30 of them, and that said, used about 8 slices applewood smoked bacon, cut into fourths, and they fit well on the cracker. Did a light dash of cayenne for some heat, then sprinkled with brown sugar, and cooked for an hour. I think you could up the heat a little on your oven (275?), or just broil them at the end to caramelize the brown sugar a little more. The crackers weren't soggy, and they were quite good and easy to make, with hardly any mess or grease on the pan. I think the choice of lean bacon is key to this one. Smokey, sweet, crunchy and little heat from the cayenne. I'll definitely do this one again. Note - for me, they tasted better warm than cold, but they reheat well and quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I COOKED THESE ON A COOKIE SHEET AND THE CRACKERS SOAKED UP A LOT OF GREASE. EVERYTHING THAT DIDN'T ENDED UP ON THE BOTTOM OF MY OVEN. THE TASTE WASN'T SO GREAT AND WHAT A MESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
In the South, this is also a variation on "pig candy." My friends & I prefer the savory version, also called "Bow Ties": wrap the bacon around Club-style crackers & sprinkle w/ Parmesan cheese. As the bacon cooks, it shrinks, & the cracker resembles a bow tie. Depending on your bacon (quality/thickness), they could possibly bake up to 2 hrs, even. These keep incredibly well for several days in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Have made these many times and found out from the beginning it does not take ANYWHERE near the whole pound of brown sugar. For the last batch I used the new oval crackers with a "rim". Worked GREAT. I also add a bit of cayenne and black pepper to the brown sugar before "lightly" sprinkling over bacon....now you have sweet, salty, smoky AND spicy!!!! Have also mixed some Penzey's Fox Point seasoning with the sugar before baking. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I really enjoyed this simple recipe! I followed the directions exactly and was a bit nervous but they are very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Made these for an ornament party I had last night. At first, I thought, these just look like a cracker with bacon on them. After I ate one or two they grew on me. Bacon got really crisp and brown sugar added a nice sweetness to it. Be careful because some of mine got a tad too burnt on bottom. Did not get asked for the recipe, though. That's usually my rule of thumb whether I make something again. Easy and good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States