Bacon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
my husband is in the Navy and has been gone for 5 months. I asked him if he wanted me to send some of his favorite cookies to eat and share with the guys. He of course said yes. I asked if he wanted anything else and he had the strange request of something with bacon. Jokingly, I said how about bacon cookies. Well, he loved them (so did all of the other sailors). Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
i made this last saturday for an oktoberfest themed party. they were okay and people said they liked them, but to me they had very little flavor. the only good parts were the pieces of bacon. anyway, they weren't bad, just not as good as i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
These turned out weird and dry for me. Too bad, because I was looking forward to bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
These were ok. Lacking a little flavor. I tried using the bacon grease with the butter to give it a little more oomph. Didn't change the taste of the cookie part much. I'll be toying around with this recipe this fall though - trying to figure out if some good sharp cheddar cheese can be baked in with these. Thanks for this unusual recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
When I made these, the prep time wasn't QUITE that long. Also, I added roughly a cup of cheddar cheese which made for some much better cookies than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Not really a fan. Made the recipe as written. "Cookies" came out dry and bland...more like crackers with a shortbread textures. There certainly wasn't enough bacon flavor. I think cheese could have helped a bit, but not too much. These might be okay served with tomato soup or some other kind of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I am a huge fan of bacon and love it, but this recipe ruins it. The cookies where dry and didn't have much favor. I would suggest making something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We read the reviews and accepted the challenge to add some kick to this recipe. This became quite nice as an added savory cookie to our Holiday treat tray. We added 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream, and utilized an 1/8 cup of fresh grated parmesan/ romano cheese to the dough and added 1/8 tsp additional salt, rolled the log in pepper and parmesan - when baked with egg wash we added a sprinkling of grated asiago - wow the basic recipe a sturdy base became a luscious zesty crunchy tasty " cookie" brought favored remarks from family and friends. yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I was so excited to make these cookies. I added some cheddar cheese and used 1/4 tsp. of bacon salt instead of regular; it really didn't help. The only flavor of the cookie came from the bacon pieces themselves. I think the next time I want bacon cookies I'm just going to find a good sugar cookie recipe and add bacon. I was really hoping for something different than a bland cookie with bacon chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States