Bacon Clapshot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I grew up eating the same treat ( but turnip/rutabegas) was only an occasional addition. Probably because our " Victory Garden " could only grow so much! My siblings and I all called it "Mixed mashed"! Mom frequently stayed with her nannie from Ireland when growing up, and was just as frustrated at the foolish answer to " why do you call it that? " - she died before the real answer was given. Yep my greataunt (the family source for info) revealed that it was her real distaste of carrots! She passed this dislike right on down to her grandaughter. We had turnip frequently, but it never survived our knife wielding family to be cooked. We all loved it pared, sliced kinda thin, salted, and even peppered for the brave, then CHOMP, oh ,we loved it. When I was college age, she finally confessed - "I couldn't choke a carrot down for any amount of money". Well, she raised 5 kids who loved that veggie any way you found it. Now her grandkids (26) and her greatgrands (28) all like the orange and white special mashed potatoes. The only thing added beyond S&P was butter and maybe if we were being good some finely chopped onion. To sum it up - God bless the Irish and the Scots and their inventive ways!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These were good mash potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I use rutabagas instead of turnips and add some garlic cloves while they are cooking. Substitute sour cream for the butter and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
i didn't add any milk because the veggies were moist enough without it. My kids loved it, 2 of them even wanted the leftovers for breakfast the next day. i would recommend eating any leftovers within a day or two, though because the turnip seems to get stronger as it sits. I mixed some grated cheese in with the bacon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I had never thought of combining potatos and turnips as I really like turnips by themself. My finicky wife liked this dish even though she will not eat turnips. I did put some minced onion flakes out of habit. We will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was soo good! I've never cooked with turnip before and we couldn't even taste it in this dish! Excellent recipe that I look forward to making again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this today for lunch, using equal amounts of potato and turnip and adding carrots. It was wonderful, even on a 100-degree day. We ate it warm instead of hot off the stove. Next time I will add more nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We really enjoyed these. The turnips are not really discernable as turnips, but add a dimension of sorts. Altogether with the bacon and nutmeg, the dish was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used organic red potatoes, lowfat buttermilk, instead of plain milk, turkey bacon and instead of nutmeg, I added a teaspoon or so of chopped chives and a little garlic powder. We all liked this a great deal. NOTE: For those of you who cook with turnips, be aware that they cook faster than potatoes. So, when you cut up your turnips, make them larger than your potatoes so they cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Whoa, these are some darned good "mashed potatoes!" First, a mention of an unintended substitution - I sent Hubs to the store for turnips and he came home with rutabagas. *Sigh* Thank goodness they're pretty much interchangeable! I added a little chopped green onion and some softened cream cheese and in so doing found I didn't need to add any milk at all. I don’t know what it is about the simple and humble additions of nutmeg, rutabagas, er, turnips and bacon to the potatoes but there WAS something special and different about them, albeit quietly understated. It really dressed up basic mashed potatoes. I reserved some of the bacon and green onion to garnish the top which really prettied them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States