Bacon Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Oh my gosh!! This was incredible. I was craving a stick-to-your-ribs comfort food, and this fit the bill. I used a package of chicken tenderloins instead of breasts, 1/3 Cup frozen corn, and roughly the same amount of chopped carrots and celery. Did add about 2 tsp cornstarch to the half&half before adding it, and followed the Bisquick box directions for dumplings. Perfection! Licking our chops still! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I left out the canned corn and used 2C lowfat milk rather than 3C half and half. Delicious! I also used a small can (one of those 4-packs) of biscuit dough, each cut into quarters, instead of the biscuit mix. To thicken the soup, I added 1T cornstarch mixed with 2T water. A warm, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This recipe is sooooo good! I made it exactly the way the recipe says, except that I used milk instead of half and half. I couldn't believe how yummy this meal turned out to be! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
It's good, but several changes needed: The dumplings need more mix to cause the batter to be the proper thickness called for in the recipe. I only used one potato and left out the corn. As a southern-bred person, add anything else besides the chicken and dumplings and we called it stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This was very good. I added garlic, carrot, celery and frozen corn instead of canned. Next time I make I will double the bacon. I used Bisquick so I had to change the measurments in regard to the mix/milk amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Overall, this is a great tasting recipe. A definite keeper, and I can't say that about too many recipes I try the first time. I cut the poultry seasoning down to 3/4 tsp. and it still tasted very good. I would cut the dumpling mixture in half next time though, because it was way too much and tended to soak up a lot of the sauce mixture. My whole family liked it though~even my kids ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This a great cold weather recipe. We enjoyed it - even the leftovers. This recipe doesn't need any help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyc.chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!! I used 1 1/2 cup of milk and 1 1/2 cup half and half and followed the directions on the Bisquick box as other reviews suggested. This is an awesome recipe! Everyone in my family had seconds! WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
I liked it but need to change it before I fix it again. I thought there was too much liquid (half-n-half). It was more like a soup then what I know of as a chicken and dumpling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was very tasty. I used pre-cooked, pre-crumbled bacon and hash browns, and added celery. I made my dumplings out of flour and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States