Bacon Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
My mother used to make "Potato Dumplings" when I was a girl. They were made with quartered potatoes boiled in water with bacon pieces, and then she would make dumplings like the ones for "Chicken Dumplings", rolled out thin on the dough board and cut into thin slices. If we had any fresh English Peas in the garden, she would put some of these in, but we rarely did. She always said you only had two messes of English peas from a planting: one on the table and one in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This was wonderful. I've never made chicken and dumplings before, and I was rather nervous about the results. I made this according to the recipe almost entirely. The only change I made was using garlic/cheese biscuits, and making them according to the directions on the packaging. Everything else was exactly as described. It turned out to be delicious. I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was delicious!! We added about four sliced medium carrots, a small bag of frozen peas, a bit more chicken broth, and used six average sized red potatoes instead. Also, instead of using the bacon grease, we used olive oil. It still turned out very flavorful and fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Amazing! Only thing i changed was 2 cups chicken broth and 2 cups heavy cream. perfect thick sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
really good but a few tweeks were necessary. I used shredded hash browns that I browned salt and peppered, about 2 tsp of parsley, carrots and 1 roll grands buttermilk biscuits torn into pieces. Next time I'll omit the corn. You'd think it would compliment this dish well but it did just the opposite to me; I'll use carrots and celery instead. Easy with the salt! I learned the hard way that the salt intensifies as it cooks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Yum!!! This is THE BEST Chicken n Dumplins I've ever had!! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was amazing! We decided that it didn't quite qualify as dumplings, mine came out like chicken corn chowder with biscuits mixed in. But everyone in my house loved it, I barely had any leftovers. Will most certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I did not care for this recipe..... too much Half & Half?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States