Bacon Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This recipe was awesome! very rich and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was pretty good but I need to clarfy some stuff. Listen to the bisquik box, not the recipe here!! 1 cup of milk to 1.5 cups baking mix will give you soup. 3 slices of bacon is a little chinzy, we used 6 and could probably have used more. We didn't add the crumbled bacon until our own bowlfuls because we didn't want it soggy. The crunchy bacon on top is much better I think 2 C of the half and half would have sufficed, as 3 just seems like a little too much broth. This can be helpful, however, if your making more dumplings!! The rest of it we followed exactly and it turned out quite nice. Filling and comforting. Thanks for the great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Really don't understand the great reviews on this one! I made it exactly as the recipe calls and it was just plain boring. This recipe makes a huge pot of soup/stew and 3 strips of bacon and a tsp of seasoning is not enough flavoring to put a dent in this volume of stuff. Without some sort of thickening agent, it will look like biscuits floating in milk. Everyone at my house tried it and then passed on it. And if you don't eat it right away, the biscuits swell and get really mushy. It was a mess after just a couple of hours. I threw this one out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this dairy free with original flavored oat milk, it totally worked! my meat and potatoes husband did not even guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I just made this and it was A-MAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I made this for dinner last night and we loved it. I did make a couple of changes. I had some mushrooms on hand, so I added them. I also added some fresh chopped garlic to the onions and potatoes. We aren't fans of corn, so I used frozen peas and fresh carrot's. I was a little concerned about the amount of liquid and next time I would add a little flour to it to thicken because I found it a little too thin. Overall it was very tasty. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Pretty tasty - can't beat cream, carbs, and bacon in my opinion! I added garlic and cheddar cheese. However, I found it a bit heavy with both dumplings AND potatoes, so if I were to make this again I'd probably only choose one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Delicious. I used fat free half and half and it was still amazing. We all have nasty colds right now and this was definitely comfort food. Delicious. (Next time I will half the dumpling mixture as there was way more than would fit in the top of the soup pot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
the only complaint i had about this was the "cook time". if you add up the time in the instructions it adds up to 50 minutes, not counting prep time. with two of us working on this it took almost 90 minutes to make. totally worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Tried the for the first time tonight. This recepie is so easy and delish! my family really enjoyed. I used bisquick for the dumplings but other than that used all ingredience this recepie called for. I would highly recommend it! Great traditional chicken and dumplings made easy! love this web site, so many awesome things to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States