Bacon Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
A wonderful and easy recipe. For my corn chowder style dishes I like to use this dumpling. 1-1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup yellow cornmeal, 1 Tablespoon (heaping) baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 1-1/2 cup liquid of your choice (milk, half&half, soymilk, or even water) They compliment the corn chowder nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is a fantastic recipe. Did a couple of tweaks. First as was suggested double the bacon and used a hardwood smoked bacon. Since we enjoy mushrooms added 9 medium mushrooms which I diced in with the fry pan with the onions. Also after the chicken etc. had fried for a while I added frozen corn (do not keep canned here). After adding the broth allowed it simmer for about 1 hour then added the milk. Used 1 cup 35% cream (whipping cream) and 2 cups 2% milk. Allowed to simmer again for about 1 hour. When I brought to a boil added a mixture of cornstarch and water to thicken up (family preference) then added the dumplings. Yummy meal will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
So good! I add more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was amazing!! I left out the bacon, only because we didn't have any, and added some peas, carrots ans celery. I would cut back on potatoes, just because you have the biscuits for carbs. I prefer more veggies. This is so easy. I boiled the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Definitely comfort food! I replaced the bacon with mild Italian sausage (Johnsonville, of course!) and we loved it. Perfect for chilly Fall days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was good, but I couldn't get all of the ingredients into my biggest, deepest skillet, at 14 inches. Had to leave out some of the potatoes. I ended up transferring it, during the cooking, to a big dutch oven. Next time, I will start with that and add more bacon. The kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My only issue is: holy smokes, how big a skillet do you need??!!?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This didn't really work out for me - couldn't get the dough to a doughy consistency, and my family thought it was a little bland and would have preferred a chicken stew without the dumplings. It wasn't bad, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This was the first time I have ever had chicken and dumplings. And, I am glad my first experience was with this recipe. Thank you, just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this exactly as written except w gluten free biscuits so I'm sure it would have been even more tasty had it been regular , but my gluten free version got a good review from my husband and my one year old ate his all gone so I'm giving this five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States