Bacon Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The soup before you add the dumpling is wonderful! However, after the dumplings are added it gets a texture that is almost grainy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I give this recipe a good, solid 4.5 rating. First, it wasn't the prettiest of all soups to look at but that isn't really a big deal. I really did enjoy the flavors and it had everything I love - bacon (YES!!!!), dumplings (hooray for carbs) and taters (hooray for even more carbs). After tasting the broth though, I did add in alot more flavors to the mix because it was coming off a little bland to me, so I threw in some white pepper, alot of garlic and a bit of celery seed. This is a good, hearty stick to your ribs soup and a little goes a loooonnnnggg way. I made it for a group of friends, and they all agreed it was tasty. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very tasty- would use less bacon next time. Added cumin and poultry seasonings. Used homemade biscuit recipe, and still very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is a very tasty recipe; however, in regards to the dumplings, DO NOT USE THE AMOUNTS CALLED FOR! It creates a batter rather than the sticky dough needed to make a traditional dumpling. Follow the instructions on the box of biscuit mix and they'll come out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I've made chicken and dumplings several times and each time I try a different one hoping to find the perfect recipe. I've found the one!! My search is over, this recipe is amazing! My whole family raved over it, I will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I just finished this and it's pretty good, but I feel like it needs something. I did add a clove of garlic and I used skim milk iand some cornstarch thickening, instead of 1/2 and 1/2 both beause I didn't want the calories and I didn't have any. I also had some extra rosemary during the boiling phase, but removed the sprig after. I just feel like it needs some more seasoning, but I'm not sure what. Used a double recipe of bisquick dumplings. My very picky 15 year old son liked it. I tried a bit of it without dumplings and with saltines instead and it was better, so maybe more salt? I'm sure I'll try it again, we'll see what my husband thinks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The amount of liquid that is used is way off. It was more like a soup! I don't think the recipe needs potatoes and dumplings. I used only 2 cups 1/2 & 1/2 and it was still very watery. I finally used a can of cream of chicken soup to thicken it. Probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Tasty comfort food! Very fattening as written. Will definitely make it less fattening next time. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My family loved this! I did add carrots and celery. I used 1% milk and corn starch to reduce the fat. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Our family just didn't like the look of it and felt the taste was bland. Won't be making it again with so many other things to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States