Bacon Chicken Livers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I thought that these were really yummy. The only reason that I did not rate this a 5 star recipe is the broiling of the livers. After about 5 minutes of broiling the bacon was burning and my house was getting smoked out. I turned off the broiler and baked them at 450 degrees until the bacon was crisp. Maybe 10 more minutes. Thanks for posting the reccipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious! Oh my goodness this is amaizing I served these and my dog's bbirthday party and the other dogs found it a HUGE hit.... They sure looked apatized but I sure wasnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I make this recipe all the time. I get the chicken livers in a container in the meat dept. Clean them up and cut them into bite size pieces. I use maple bacon and cut each slice in half before making. I find that if bacon is a little frozen it makes cutting into it easier. I add a can of sliced water chestnuts as well. Put a 1/2 piece of bacon in the palm of your hand, add a piece of the chicken liver and then a sliced water chestnut on top of that. Roll bacon around all and place on cookie sheet. After they are all on the cookie sheet, sprinkle with lemon pepper, oregano, or whatever you like. Place in foil lined pan that is sprayed with non stick spray. Cook at 350 for abut 15 minutes then turn on the broiler while they are in the oven and cook 5 minutes or until bubbling and crispy. (I'd watch them closely so they don't burn). I serve with tobasco and honey or any hot sauce you like. One pound bacon, 1 can sliced water chestnuts, one container of livers. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
My great aunt has made this recipe for years. I make it now all the time. I follow the recipe except I broil the bacon wrapped chicken livers in worchestire sauce. Once they're done, I put them over rice and laddle honey over them. As an alternative/appetizer, my great aunt would dip hers in her favorite BBQ sauce instead of using honey. Put a green vegetable with it and you have a MEAL!!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Simple, but a great place to start for one who didn't know where to begin. As someone recommended, I cooked the bacon ahead of time, about 3/4 of the way, so the livers wouldn't get too done. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
We really liked this recipe and will use it over and over. :) Thanks for sharing JAZZY-GIRL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This is a very good recipe. I also cut up the bacon and fried the bacon and livers together, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Simple! Delicious! Great!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I modified the resipe by partially pre-cooking the bacon. This way the livers could be cooked only until still pink inside, which put the dish into the ***** category for taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
This is a delicious appetizer. I added waterchestnuts to each, its add crunch. Carole MI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States