Bacon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I make this chicken all the time - my kids say it's their favorite! It is good, and very easy, but I recommend pre-cooking the bacon otherwise it's just too soggy. Every time I make it, I use about 1/2 to 3/4 of a bottle of BBQ sauce (and I use hickory instead of honey, because I always buy hickory smoked bacon and when I tried it with the honey BBQ sauce, it was nasty). I usually cook 2 slices of bacon per chicken breast and that's plenty enough. I bake the chicken in the BBQ sauce while cooking the bacon on the stove, and then add the bacon during the last 10 minutes or so of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I chopped up bacon and onions and cooked until very brown. I mixed this into the barbeque sauce and then poured the sauce over the chicken. I covered with aluminum foil and it was done in 30 minutes. I added a piece of crispy bacon on top and some cheddar cheese which I let melt in the oven. It was very good! My boyfriend licked his plate clean!! We used KC Original BarBQ Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I don't understand how this recipe got such good ratings. It is a very simple recipe and i followed it exactly. It was just plain horrible! It was like chicken swimming in a sea of hot barbeque sauce and bacon fat and the bacon did not get crispy - i even turned the broiler on for a few minutes. please don't waste your time and money on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
When the submitter suggested serving this with macaroni and cheese and tater tots or French fries, I knew it would be best to skip it. I tried it anyway, though, and I was right in the first place. The addition of the flavorful bacon is a good idea, but DEFinitely cook the bacon first. The cooking time was most assuredly inadequate. Best not to use this recipe, unless substantially modified. And then you'd have an entirely different recipe, wouldn't you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Yum- Husband made this one tonight- Used turkey bacon and cooked and crumbled it on top before cooking. Pretty good weeknight main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This recipe was pretty good. I read the reviews before hand so I cut the sauce in half and used a half pound of bacon that I pre-cooked for 2 minutes in the microwave. I also just brushed the sauce on the chicken then put the bacon on top with out any more sauce. I think next time I will reduce the cooking time by 10 minutes or so... it was a bit overdone. Also, I think I will cook the bacon even longer before I put it in the oven. But overall, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Wow, this was great and so simple I alost past it by. I didn't have honey bbq sauce so I just made it myself using honey and bullseye bold. I used chicken thigh, the dark meat goes well with the bbq sauce, and the extra cooking time makes sure the bacon cooks and bbq sauce caramalizes. I also chopped some onion into the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
This was great and couldn't be easier. Because of past reviews, I partially cooked the bacon first in the microwave so it could all be served with the chicken. I used 1/2 lb. bacon instead of 1 lb. and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Easy. I used bullseye honey garlic. I partially precooked the bacon, topped each chicken breast with 1 slice of bacon put on the bbq sauce and baked for 35 min. next time I might throw some cheese on it the last few minutes and garnish with scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
It was easy to make and pretty good. Not the best dish ever, but I'll probably use the recipe again when I need something in a hurry. If you need an easy, no fuss recipe, try this one. The disappointing part was that none of the bacon got crispy. I suggest putting the bacon on top instead of the remaining sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States