Bacon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was a great recipe. I agree with the rest that you need to cook the bacon a little beforehand as it can come out soggy, but all in all a pretty good easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
super easy to make, good to eat. A perfect dish to throw in the oven when I get home from work, and not have to worry about. Also great for leftovers the next day! I don't put the full amount of bbq sauce on, just enough to cover the chicken (and I use just a regular bbq sauce, not honey bbq flavor). I also just cook the bacon on it's own, and stick it on top before eating (so it doesn't get soggy, and remains crispy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The bacon should definitely be pre-cooked before being placed on top of the chicken. I also added shredded cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was very tasty. I didn't use the second pouring of sauce and I added cheese on top at the end and let it melt on. It was a little greasy but most of that stayed in the dish when I removed the chicken. Personally I think the flavor was very good...and the family liked it alot. My very picky son even ate a second helping...I love recipes that he will actually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TysMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
We used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce; my pieces used a combination of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey and the original Sweet Baby Ray's. The bacon didn't crisp when my mom did this recipe for us; she says she should have cooked the bacon half-way before doing the recipe. This was pretty simple, so such details count a lot. The saltiness of the bacon combined well with the sweetness of the BBQ sauce. Was served over brown rice with brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
A very ggod recipe, and I agree with other reviewers - you have to use quality BBQ sauce. It must be thick; hickory works as well as honey. Also, full bottle is too much - use less on the chicken, and add bacon on the top. If you wish to have more BBQ flavor on the bacon, carefully brush the strips with sauce - that way they'll be crisp at the end. You can make any chicken pieces this way, and even full chicken / cornish hen. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
a good recipe, but the bacon did not crisp, it was as tender as the chicken... perhaps it would be crisp if cooked by itself first. and 18 0z bbq-sauce is too much, it pools around the chicken, and carmelizes on the pan, making it hard to clean. I'd recomend using about half the ammount of sauce recomended. i also cooked it for 35 minutes and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was pretty good, but nothing too exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My husband and I really liked this dish. I only cooked 3 brests, used chicken seasoning salt and ground pepper. I used about 1/2 cup of honey mustard barbecue sauce and 1/2 cup of honey barbecue sauce. I also like my bacon crispy so I fried 6/7 slices first. I also put a couple slices of onion on top of the brests first, then the sauce, then the crispy bacon (which stayed crispy) and cooked as instructed. I served it with corn and some candied carrots. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This meal is great, instead of honey garlic bbq. sauce I use "ORIGINAL". I also serve it with spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States