Bacon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I give this recipe 5 stars because it is easy, and none of the ingedients are distasteful to children. I'm all about shortcuts for those of us rushing in from work that don't have much prep time. Try using the already cooked bacon. (the kind you put in the microwave to crisp before eating) It works great, crisps nicely, doesn't require cooking first, and part of the bacon fat is already cooked out of it. Also, try sprinkling some cheddar cheese on the chicken the last few minutes of baking. This recipe also makes a fantastic, and somewhat sloppy, sandwich similar to restaurant "Western Chicken" type sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Very good. I read reviews where they said the bacon didn't get cooked. So I opted to cook bacon first, chop and add to sauce. I read this in review #2. Per that reviewer I also added some diced sauteed onion to the sauce. Baked until meat thermometer read 165 (which was about 45 minutes). My husband who usually dislikes BLSL said he really liked it because the chicken was so moist. Topped each piece with some pieces of bacon, which added a nice crunch. Everyone devoured this! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was an instant hit the first time I cooked for my mom, brother, and uncle for the fourth of July almost two years ago. My brother loved it so much that he asked for the recipe so his girlfriend could make for him once he moved to Illinois. It also made the mouths drool of my ex's coworkers. I just suggest wrapping the bacon around the chicken and then putting the BBQ sauce over everything. It keeps the chicken from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatiLouWho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartow, Florida, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Bacon should have been partially cooked first. Just tasted like chicken in barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very tasty. After reading the reviews I poured half the bottle of barbecue sauce in the bottom of a baking dish. Then I partially cooked the bacon and wrapped chicken strips in the bacon. I then baked everything for 30 minutes. I then poured the other half of the barbecue sauce on top. The bacon was crispy because it was baked without the sauce on top It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
SO GOOD! The bacon with the BBQ sauce is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I would make again but cut the amount of BBQ sauce down. too much and the bacon does not crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This has become one of my favorite recipes that I pulled from this website. My family did find that the BBQ sauce was a bit strong, so instead of completely soaking the chicken in sauce, I actually brush the BBQ sauce onto the meat. It takes longer to prepare but it leaves the chicken with a good flavor without completely overpowering the meat. I also wrap the bacon around the chicken and serve as is - not the best if you're looking for crunchy bacon - but definitely filled with flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Algus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this dish for dinner today and it came out really good! My husband gave it great reviews! However, I did change it up a little after I read a couple of reviews. First of all, I seasoned the chicken with garlic powder and seasoning salt, secondly, I browned the bacon and chicken a little before putting in the oven. Lastly, I put BBQ sauce both on the chicken and above the bacon. It came out great and will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This does need many modifications so I have to give it a very low rating. The bacon does not get crispy at all the way the recipe is written. And it definitely calls for too much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States