Bacon Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was a great recipe. I agree with the rest that you need to cook the bacon a little beforehand as it can come out soggy, but all in all a pretty good easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
super easy to make, good to eat. A perfect dish to throw in the oven when I get home from work, and not have to worry about. Also great for leftovers the next day! I don't put the full amount of bbq sauce on, just enough to cover the chicken (and I use just a regular bbq sauce, not honey bbq flavor). I also just cook the bacon on it's own, and stick it on top before eating (so it doesn't get soggy, and remains crispy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The bacon should definitely be pre-cooked before being placed on top of the chicken. I also added shredded cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was very tasty. I didn't use the second pouring of sauce and I added cheese on top at the end and let it melt on. It was a little greasy but most of that stayed in the dish when I removed the chicken. Personally I think the flavor was very good...and the family liked it alot. My very picky son even ate a second helping...I love recipes that he will actually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TysMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
We used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce; my pieces used a combination of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey and the original Sweet Baby Ray's. The bacon didn't crisp when my mom did this recipe for us; she says she should have cooked the bacon half-way before doing the recipe. This was pretty simple, so such details count a lot. The saltiness of the bacon combined well with the sweetness of the BBQ sauce. Was served over brown rice with brocolli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
A very ggod recipe, and I agree with other reviewers - you have to use quality BBQ sauce. It must be thick; hickory works as well as honey. Also, full bottle is too much - use less on the chicken, and add bacon on the top. If you wish to have more BBQ flavor on the bacon, carefully brush the strips with sauce - that way they'll be crisp at the end. You can make any chicken pieces this way, and even full chicken / cornish hen. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
a good recipe, but the bacon did not crisp, it was as tender as the chicken... perhaps it would be crisp if cooked by itself first. and 18 0z bbq-sauce is too much, it pools around the chicken, and carmelizes on the pan, making it hard to clean. I'd recomend using about half the ammount of sauce recomended. i also cooked it for 35 minutes and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was pretty good, but nothing too exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My husband and I really liked this dish. I only cooked 3 brests, used chicken seasoning salt and ground pepper. I used about 1/2 cup of honey mustard barbecue sauce and 1/2 cup of honey barbecue sauce. I also like my bacon crispy so I fried 6/7 slices first. I also put a couple slices of onion on top of the brests first, then the sauce, then the crispy bacon (which stayed crispy) and cooked as instructed. I served it with corn and some candied carrots. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This meal is great, instead of honey garlic bbq. sauce I use "ORIGINAL". I also serve it with spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Bacon Jack Chicken Sandwich

Quick-and-easy chicken sandwiches star Jack cheese and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States