Bacon Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
These are easy, different, elegant, and everyone loves them! Great holiday tradition to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
These are very tasty! I made them for St. Patty's Day and both my daughter and I liked them. I used whole water chestnuts, next time I think I will try them with sliced water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
These are excellent appetizers, but I soak the water chestnuts in a mix of soy sauce and brown sugar, then wrap the bacon around them and bake or broil them. They never last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I love making these for Christmas brunch! But one change , and its wonderful this way....Buy the huge or largest dates that you can buy. Fill each pitted date with a water chestnut and then wrap them with a strip of bacon and broil til just cooked ! They are GREAT! They are gone before any thing else so make lots !! Be sure you use LARGE Dates! Enjoy ! God bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I love this recipe and it is always a big hit but what I usually do is after I drain the water chestnuts I add enough soy sauce to the can to coat the water chestnuts. We also like these with a hot flavor, so we layer a slice of jalopeno that comes in a jar and then wrap with the bacon. Addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
very easy appetizer to throw together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Clintonville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
These are very good, especially when you use the whole water chestnuts. They don't last long on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
My mom made these for my sister and I when we were kids. Helpful hint: you CAN heat them in the microwave if you don't have a toaster oven, but the toaster oven is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCDaisy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Mmmm, Bacon Waterchestnuts are delicious! Every year for as long as I can remember we've had these as appetizers for the holidays. Our family gobbles them up so fast! We've switched to using turkey bacon these days and they're even tastier! Very highly recommended (and they do not need any dipping sauce - they are perfect just the way they are!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
We've made these for years. Try the microwavable ready-to-serve bacon (it doesn't get as crumbly and wraps easily). For a sauce we use brown sugar, mayo and chili sauce. These fly off the plate at all functions I've served them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States