Bacon Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
These are excellent appetizers, but I soak the water chestnuts in a mix of soy sauce and brown sugar, then wrap the bacon around them and bake or broil them. They never last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is much better with the sauce - its called Rumaki. You take 1/4 c soy sauce, 2 tbsp packed brown sugar, 1/8 tsp ground ginger and 1 clove crushed garlic - mix it all together and marinate the water chestnuts (we also use chicken livers)covered, in the refridgerator for 2 hours. Then drain the marinade and wrap the bacon around the water chestnut and chicken liver - secure with toothpick, and bake 25-30 minutes, until the bacon is crisp. My mom used to make it all the time - they are great! I have also had it with the "BBQ" sauce of ketchup and brown sugar - its good as well, but you really have to start out with this base marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Some people enjoy a sauce made of ketchup, mustard and brown sugar for dipping.Without the sauce, this seemed not as flavorful.Thanks Robyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I love making these for Christmas brunch! But one change , and its wonderful this way....Buy the huge or largest dates that you can buy. Fill each pitted date with a water chestnut and then wrap them with a strip of bacon and broil til just cooked ! They are GREAT! They are gone before any thing else so make lots !! Be sure you use LARGE Dates! Enjoy ! God bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
These are easy, different, elegant, and everyone loves them! Great holiday tradition to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
These are very tasty! I made them for St. Patty's Day and both my daughter and I liked them. I used whole water chestnuts, next time I think I will try them with sliced water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a great recipe but I put barb-q sauce on them before cooking them in the oven. It really enhances the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
My mom use to make these all the time when I was a kid. They are so good and I dont really like bacon too much! Try them- you'll like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
They were very crunch and tasty, a friend recommended a home made barbaque sauce (ketchup and brown sugar). I did not make it, but it sounded very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNASCHUBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyds, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My mother has made these for years, and now I am making them, and even my picky kids like them. I use a mixture of soy sauce and brown sugar poured over them, it makes a nice carmalized effect on them. I have "over cooked" them by mistake before, and they still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States