Bacon Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
these are delicious and so simply. Just make sure you get the bacon completely done! Food poisoning can definitely be a party buster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I make these appetizers often. After they bake for about 15 minutes I pour some Chinese Duck Sauce over them and continue baking for approximately another 20 minutes. They are always the hit of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I grew up on these. Bacon has to be FULLY cooked. Also I have tried them plain once but never again - boring! Make sure you have sauce for dipping or better yet, once they are fully cooked, add barbeque sauce and bake for another 10 to 15 minutes so the sauce gets hot. My mom use to run a catering business and there were never any left overs when served with sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
My parents used to make this exact same receipt only they wrapped it with chicken livers...SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Marinate chestnuts in Italian dressing first. Delicious. I have been making these for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have been making these for about 30 years and they are always a huge hit! The only difference in mine is that I soak them in soy sauce (no sugar)for about 15-30 min before baking them. Much more flavor! Never have any left on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
CRISPY & CRUNCHY! I used 1/2 pkg. of regular sliced bacon with sliced water chestnuts. I placed 2-3 slices of chestnuts in each bacon roll. Very tasty! Thank you Robyn for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
i love these! I put a little brown sugar on them while they are cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My mom always made these at Christmas too! They're delicious and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These are Fantastic when cooked with bbq sauce. Just enough to coat the chestnuts and give them the extra omph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States