Bacon Chestnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
These are excellent appetizers, but I soak the water chestnuts in a mix of soy sauce and brown sugar, then wrap the bacon around them and bake or broil them. They never last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is much better with the sauce - its called Rumaki. You take 1/4 c soy sauce, 2 tbsp packed brown sugar, 1/8 tsp ground ginger and 1 clove crushed garlic - mix it all together and marinate the water chestnuts (we also use chicken livers)covered, in the refridgerator for 2 hours. Then drain the marinade and wrap the bacon around the water chestnut and chicken liver - secure with toothpick, and bake 25-30 minutes, until the bacon is crisp. My mom used to make it all the time - they are great! I have also had it with the "BBQ" sauce of ketchup and brown sugar - its good as well, but you really have to start out with this base marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Some people enjoy a sauce made of ketchup, mustard and brown sugar for dipping.Without the sauce, this seemed not as flavorful.Thanks Robyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
I love making these for Christmas brunch! But one change , and its wonderful this way....Buy the huge or largest dates that you can buy. Fill each pitted date with a water chestnut and then wrap them with a strip of bacon and broil til just cooked ! They are GREAT! They are gone before any thing else so make lots !! Be sure you use LARGE Dates! Enjoy ! God bless you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliegirl21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
These are easy, different, elegant, and everyone loves them! Great holiday tradition to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
These are very tasty! I made them for St. Patty's Day and both my daughter and I liked them. I used whole water chestnuts, next time I think I will try them with sliced water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is a great recipe but I put barb-q sauce on them before cooking them in the oven. It really enhances the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
My mom use to make these all the time when I was a kid. They are so good and I dont really like bacon too much! Try them- you'll like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
They were very crunch and tasty, a friend recommended a home made barbaque sauce (ketchup and brown sugar). I did not make it, but it sounded very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNASCHUBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyds, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
My mother has made these for years, and now I am making them, and even my picky kids like them. I use a mixture of soy sauce and brown sugar poured over them, it makes a nice carmalized effect on them. I have "over cooked" them by mistake before, and they still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States