Bacon Cheeseburger Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I increased this recipe to use 1 1/2 pounds ground beef. I made this meat loaf with my youngest son. We followed this recipe closely only using dijon mustard and adding a good amount of Stacey's Hamburger Seasoning, which is also from this site. When we started mixing the meat loaf together, it was VERY wet. Like "how is this going to hold together" wet. We added another half cup of bread crumbs to hold it together. I used my Perfect Meatloaf Pan to make this--it was PACKED. I did follow the directions to sprinkle the french fried onions over the meat loaf but I was worried about how those onions would stick to the top with the meat loaf halfway cooked. What I did was spread a good amount of ketchup over the top of the meat loaf, then sprinkle the french fried onions over the ketchup. This did take two hours to bake in the Perfect Meatloaf Pan total. This did make a good meat loaf, with a good amount of both bacon and cheese. I'm glad I added the additional spice mixture because I think it would have been bland without it. I wouldn't have thought that adding a minimal amount of mayonnaise would make a difference but it really does. I served this with garlic dills, Meme's Mashed Potatoes (Southern Plate recipe) and Cajun Buttered Corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
First try on this one. After cooking the full hour, we let it cook a bit and "turned" it out on to a plate. While the flavor was good it was "mush. It did not hold together at all. If I tried it again I guess I might try and put more bread crumbs in as the other reader suggested and cut way back on the mustard. It was a little strong for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Very good! I realized that I did not get the French-fried onions @ the store (doh!), so I just chopped some onion and added it to the meat mixture. I had more than 1 pound of beef (more like 1-3/4 pound, lol), so I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly, except for the eggs, which I kept at 2, added in a little garlic powder and I doubled the sauce mixture (I was glad I did b/c it was good). I also needed to add more breadcrumbs than called for. While this didn't taste 'just like' a bacon cheeseburger, it was very flavorful, moist and yummy! We all enjoyed it, and I will def be making it again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Tasty. I like the bacon. It adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
After finding this recipe, the hubby wanted to give it a try, and it was pretty good! This meatloaf will occasionally make the rotation of "staple" meals in our household. I actually thinked we liked it better reheated on the second day, as the bacon flavour seemed to meld more. The only things I did a little differently; I added only 1 egg based on another reviewer's suggestion that the meatloaf was too mushy (but I will add the second egg next time) and instead of mixing the cheese into the loaf, I placed 3/4 of the meat mixture in the meatloaf pan, then layered all the called for cheese (sliced into 1/4 inch slices, rather than shredded) on top, then topped with the remaining 1/4 meat mixure. We ended up with a gooey cheese "middle" that was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This recipe is AWESOME! Due to dietary needs in our family, I had to make the following changes: used low sodium turkey bacon, a 19 oz. pkg. of ground turkey, an 8 oz. pkg. of non-dairy cheddar cheese, Egg Beaters, and omitted the onions. This meatloaf was so moist and flavorful. Even my ultra picky 10 year old had seconds. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Super good and super easy to make. I'm not a fan of the traditional meatloaf, but this variation was amazing and my 5 yr old asked for seconds. I highly recommend using top quality beef. I used a not so top grade and it came out very oily. Other than that it was DELICIOUS!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
very good my family LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Since I grind my own ground round, which is much leaner than ground chuck, I just mixed some of the bacon grease from cooking the bacon. Had to add more breadcrumbs, of course, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States