Bacon Cheeseburger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mama Cass
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
What an adorable idea! I made this cake for a school function where the children got to select cakes as prizes. Not only did I receive many compliments as I carried the cake down the hallway, but it was also one of the first ones chosen! I can't vouch for how it tastes since I didn't eat it, but it was very easy to make. I simplified the recipe by omitting the "bacon," wrapping whole vanilla wafers (instead of halves) in fruit leather, using yellow fruit leather for the "cheese," instead of fruit-flavored candy, and using yellow and red decorator icing for the "mustard" and "ketchup." I also cut the green fruit leather in strips to look like shredded lettuce. By the way, my local grocery store sells boxes of fruit leather in primary colors, but they have "tongue tattoos" on them. I felt that the tattoos weren't that noticeable and were pretty easy to hide under the bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
i baked this cake for a friend of mine's birthday. i was carrying it around school and i got SO many compliments about how cute the cake was. and believe me, it was. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I cut some corners and didn't put ketchup or mustard on it, just lettuce, tomatoes and cheese with fruit rollups. No idea how it tastes, but the kids think I'm a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This cake was a HIT with six year olds. The only problem that I ran into was when I was cutting into the cake with the candy tomatoes, lettuce and cheese (fruit roll-ups and Starbursts). You might want to either use a thick frosting or remove the insides before cutting. Another thing I discovered...when I baked the brownie I wanted it to be a bit smaller then the bun, so I cut the edge off first. This really made it look like ground beef. I will make this again, it was easier then I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Thanks for the clever idea, Krystle! Instead of candies, I used frosting for decoration (thick mixture patted into shapes of cheese, tomatoes, and pickles). And no frosting on the cake layers, since they look like a burger without. Though I modified the recipe, the idea gets five stars. The kids and adults loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I made it and my class loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Super easy!!!! I work in a restaurant that specializes in Gourmet Burgers and it was a huge hit. When I make this again, I will ice the layers separately to make it easier. The only difficulty I had was getting the coloring right! It was fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
AWESOME! I made it for my sons 12th birthday and everyone thought it was a real cheeseburger! I made the brownie in a round cake pan the same as the bun bottom, and I did not have any caramels or fruit roll ups. I used starbursts (microwaved for 10 seconds and flattened with buttered fingers) for the tomato and cheese, and icing as the lettuce. very good and very rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This cake takes the cake! It was fun to make with the kids and looked great. The birthday party guests were amazed (7 year olds). 5 star for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda F.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe for the cake "buns" and brownie "burger". I used a fondant recipe for the lettuce, tomato, cheese, Tic Tacs for the "seeds" and I mixed store bought frosting to make the colors for the bun and burger. My son LOVED this cake for his birthday and he is 14! It is VERY rich, so make the pieces small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cheeseburger Cake

Half the fun in this burger cake is in all the creative condiments!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States