Bacon Cheeseburger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Thanks for the clever idea, Krystle! Instead of candies, I used frosting for decoration (thick mixture patted into shapes of cheese, tomatoes, and pickles). And no frosting on the cake layers, since they look like a burger without. Though I modified the recipe, the idea gets five stars. The kids and adults loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This cake was a HIT with six year olds. The only problem that I ran into was when I was cutting into the cake with the candy tomatoes, lettuce and cheese (fruit roll-ups and Starbursts). You might want to either use a thick frosting or remove the insides before cutting. Another thing I discovered...when I baked the brownie I wanted it to be a bit smaller then the bun, so I cut the edge off first. This really made it look like ground beef. I will make this again, it was easier then I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Cass
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
What an adorable idea! I made this cake for a school function where the children got to select cakes as prizes. Not only did I receive many compliments as I carried the cake down the hallway, but it was also one of the first ones chosen! I can't vouch for how it tastes since I didn't eat it, but it was very easy to make. I simplified the recipe by omitting the "bacon," wrapping whole vanilla wafers (instead of halves) in fruit leather, using yellow fruit leather for the "cheese," instead of fruit-flavored candy, and using yellow and red decorator icing for the "mustard" and "ketchup." I also cut the green fruit leather in strips to look like shredded lettuce. By the way, my local grocery store sells boxes of fruit leather in primary colors, but they have "tongue tattoos" on them. I felt that the tattoos weren't that noticeable and were pretty easy to hide under the bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sskemble
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
This was a fun cake to make! A little stressful in the beginning because I didn't have any brown food coloring for the bun, so I used a little chocolate frosting in the vanilla frosting. I also used some green dye in the coconut flakes for lettuce and only did the ketchup and mustard. For the seeds on top of the bun, I used slivered almonds. Brought on great excitement in my son's classroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sskemble

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Made this for son's 9th bday party...per reviews, used the peanut butter frosting and it was yummy. Used a golden vanilla cake for the "bun" and made a brownie in a pie pan for the "patty." Since reviews said the colored candies made it too hard to cut, I only used green candy slices, rolled out and put around the edge for lettuce, and red candy slices, rolled out and used a small cup to make round slices for "tomatoes." Used a bread knife to slice. All the kids LOVED this recipe! Great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
AWESOME! I made it for my sons 12th birthday and everyone thought it was a real cheeseburger! I made the brownie in a round cake pan the same as the bun bottom, and I did not have any caramels or fruit roll ups. I used starbursts (microwaved for 10 seconds and flattened with buttered fingers) for the tomato and cheese, and icing as the lettuce. very good and very rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I cut some corners and didn't put ketchup or mustard on it, just lettuce, tomatoes and cheese with fruit rollups. No idea how it tastes, but the kids think I'm a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kympop
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I had so much fun making this cake! I didn't really go by the instructions though...just took it as more of an idea to base mine on as I wanted to make it super easy and not so sugary (low fat burger?). I used one box of golden cake split into 2 round pans for the bun. One box of choc cake put into a square pan and then cut into a circle for the patty. As others suggested, this makes it look more like meat, with the rough edge. i should have put it in a rectangular pan though b/c I think the burger turned out too thick. I thought the bun looked better without icing plus I didn't want a super sweet cake. I used kiwi fruit (lettuce), strawberries (tomatoes) and mango slices (cheese). Important to blot the fruit dry so they won't slide out and I should have cut them thinner too so they wouldn't slip as much. I used a container of vanilla icing (mayo) on each side in between the burger and bun on each side to hold everything together. I put a little icing on each Rice Krispy to make the sesame seeds as I saw someone else do on here. My boyfriend says the sesame seeds are the thing that makes it look so great. I brought it over to my friend's BBQ and it was a SMASH HIT. This cake makes people happy. My next plan is to make sliders! ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda F.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe for the cake "buns" and brownie "burger". I used a fondant recipe for the lettuce, tomato, cheese, Tic Tacs for the "seeds" and I mixed store bought frosting to make the colors for the bun and burger. My son LOVED this cake for his birthday and he is 14! It is VERY rich, so make the pieces small!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
i baked this cake for a friend of mine's birthday. i was carrying it around school and i got SO many compliments about how cute the cake was. and believe me, it was. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Cheeseburger Cake

Half the fun in this burger cake is in all the creative condiments!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States