Bacon Cheese Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I like to serve a lot of different appetizers at parties and over the years have found some great ones but this is still a favorite. Try using 10 slices of real bacon, cooked and crumbled. The filling can also be made several days ahead and refrigerated, then softened before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I was looking for a savory "finger food" to take to a Christmas party tonight and for something that I had all the ingredients so I didn't have to go to the store.... these fit the bill! After reading the other reviews here are the changes I made: I also used 10-slices of real bacon, drained and crumbled. I added a big handful of shredded cheddar cheese ("mexican blend") and a dash of garlic powder (plus the onion and black pepper called for in the recipe). I did not have any crescent rolls so I used the small 10-count refrigerator biscuits. I pinched each biscuit in half and put them in my mini-muffin pan and pressed them up the sides of each muffin cup. I put the cheese/bacon filling in one of my cake decorating disposable bags and cut off the tip and squeezed a big dollop of filling into each biscuit cup. Baked for about 12 minutes until the biscuits looked done.... VERY YUMMY!!! I will definitely make these again. Thanks, Holli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paragould, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Really good except I used real bacon and crumbled, less onion, and 1/3 cup shredded parmesan cheese for the filling. I also brushed the top of the crescents with melted butter and sprinkled with poppy seeds. So good warm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I liked these but my daughter and boyfriend did not (I think they just didn't like the cresant dough? Perhaps phyllo dough might change their minds?) I took "Linda Mclean's" advice: Used real bacon, added a dash of onion/garlic powder and some parsley. Might try these again to see if my family will give them a second chance. Thanks anyways Holli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Very yummy, a great little bite-sized appetizer. Made for our Christmas party. I actually prepared all of the "big" rolls the night before and refrigerated them overnight. This made slicing them SO easy the next day because they weren't as squishy. Also, make sure you put them about 1" to 1 1/2" apart and definitely make sure the baking tray is lightly greased (I forgot and it wasn't a good result). I will probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Pretty good, but the bacon:cream cheese ratio was way too high. I used a little less bacon and a litttle more cream cheese and they turned out very nicely. Not very pretty, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
A 5 star winner, hands down. Holli, have you ever considered entering this in the Pilsbury bake-off contest? I'll bet this would have a chance at winning! I used real bacon, and myself and my guests loved it. It's easy, and I most certainly will be making it again. Kudos, Holli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I had friends and family back to the house after my daughters' recital and these little appetizers were loved by all. I too used real bacon and I also seasoned my cream cheese with garlic and onion powders and a little parsley. Next time I might try sausage and use Italian seasonings in the cream cheese. Thanks Holli for a very easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This was a great recipe! It took me a little longer on the prep time (appx. 10 minutes), and I rolled the dough up into two sections, making two logs. This made small bite-size pieces. I made this for my Sunday School class, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This recipe can be made much faster using the new crescent refrigerated flaky dough sheet's...finally, NO pinching together seam's !!!! it's a dream come true ! There is no end to what you can do with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States