Bacon Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We used to make a version of this back in the 70's. We used swiss cheese and a little onion with the mayo and baked them on Pinas rye crackers. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
you can also mix 1# bacon,(uncooked) and i medium onion chopped, with shredded cheddar and spread on cocktail rye - broil at 375 til done. you can also add other things like chopped garlic, green onion erc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I make these all the time, but I add one small can of chopped black olives to the mixture and I do not mix in the bacon. Instead, once I spread the mixture on the bread I then sprinkle bacon bits on top of the mixture. I also bake mine at 350 degrees until bubbly rather than broiling. This is a special favorite with everyone at our parties - especially the guys. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Need a substitute for the mayo? What can I use instead?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
It is really fast and easy.You can add chopped mushrooms and green onions for some additional flavors. Pile it on a baked potato, and rye bread wedges instead of pumpernickel is very good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Super easy and always a hit even with the picky folks! Definitely a new fav! I like to use the tex mex cheese blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
There is NOWHERE that I take this that it isn't the first thing gone. So easy, and so good. I do have a bit different version now after many ways of making it usually because of a request being made and me not having all the ingredients at the time. But as a result I think it tastes even better (if possible). I use the Sesame French bread that is sold at Walmart, delish and CHEAP! I also use the sharp cheddar and mix it with Monterey jack cheese. I have also used smoked gouda with some swiss and boy oh boy is it good. Also another recommendation is do not skimp an cheap bacon full of grease, use a leaner better brand and you will not be disappointed. The point is, flavor is discretionary and what is great to one could be better by another, just use your favs and I bet you will be always asked to bring this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Nice even blend of ingredients. Used half the mayo and mustard and was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This made a great appetizer. I couldn't find the small pumpernickel loafs of bread at the store so I used rye and pumpernickel swirled bread and just cut it into small squares. I also sprinkled some sliced green onions on top. Tasted great and they did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
So good! Everyone raved about them. I used 3 different types of bread and they all tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States