Bacon Cheddar Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Easy appetizer and very delicious. Once my guests actually tried it (because it doesn't look like anything special) they all devoured it. It was gone within a few minutes. I made a few small changes to this: 1) half a cup of light ranch dressing and half a cup of non-fat sour cream; 2) added diced onions instead of grated (which gave it a better, texture); 3) threw in garlic & onion powder, pepper, and sea salt; & 4) used 2-3 extra slices of bacon. I chilled this overnight and served the next evening w/ celery & cucumber slices. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was great! I swore as I read reviews I wouldn't be one of those folks who loved a recipe then made a change but I did.. well just one... I split the 1 cup of creamy dressing into 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This was very good. I used one cup of mayonaise instead of the creamy dressing. I also added more onion, garlic powder, black pepper, and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this for my son's birthday party, I was pretty hesitant, but it came out GREAT! There was none left. I crushed crackers over the top, melted a couple tablespoons of butter and poured that over the crushed crackers, and baked at 350 for about 15-20 minutes. Will definately be making again! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This came out pretty good after a little additions. First, after reading the reviews, I went with Honey Dijon dressing (my husband doesn't like ranch). I used 5-6 Tablespoons. Making it sweeter, I added a few drops of Tabasco and , about, 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. I made it two days in advance and the flavors blended to make it more sweet and spicy. I will make this again...my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This recipe is unclear as to what "creamy salad dressing" means. My guess would be that it means Miracle Whip, not the kind of dressing you put on salad! I didn't care for this much though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I MADE THIS FOR A PARTY AND TOOK ONE TASTE OF IT AND THREW IT OUT. I HAD TO RUN TO THE STORE TO GET SOMETHING TO TAKE TO THE PARTY. I ENDED UP MAKING MEXICAN STYLE DIP ON THIS WEBSITE WHICH WAS GOOD. I'M NOT SURE WHAT WENT WRONG WITH THE BACON CHEDDAR SPREAD. MAYBE IT WAS THE RANCH DRESSING I USED. I WILL NOT ATTEMPT TO MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
Visually unappealing. Flavor okay. When I made this (along with another dip) for a gathering, this was barely touched while the other dip disappeared. No one requested the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Everyone loved this spread, served with Ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Tasty! The creamy salad dressing I used was Ken's Light Creamy Parmesan. The only modification I made to this recipe was to give all the ingredients a good spin in the food processor before chilling. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States