Bacon-Cheddar Pinwheels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
When I make these, I use softened cream cheese that I've added a little homemade dry ranch seasoning to instead of bottled ranch dressing. It helps keep the fillings on the crescent roll dough a little better and it isn't as wet when you go to cut it. Double or triple this recipe--these go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Very tasty pretty little treats. The first batch came out dry (2 tbl spoons wasn't enough. The 2nd bath was great I left out the ranch dressing and used cream cheese. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These sound good, so I've bought all the ingredients (cream cheese makes more sense than ranch) & getting ready to try them. Freezing them prior to cutting makes total sense. But I'm wondering if anyone knows if you could actually freeze them OVERNIGHT so that you could prep a day ahead & then cook them right before a party or if that would destroy the "rising" factor of the dough?? Or if I should just make them right away, refrigerate them, and then warm them up in the microwave (or oven) just before the party?!?!? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
These are delicious! For ease in cutting, I put them in the freezer for 10-15 minutes first. I made 1/2 of the recipe as written with bacon, and used deli ham, finely chopped in the other half. We couldn't decide which we liked better ..... they were both good. For the reviewer who questioned cutting the short (4" side), that is correct. You cut them in 1/2" slices, which means 4" equals 8 appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
What a huge hit at our christmas party!!! Very tasty. I altered the recipe by using cream cheese creamed with ranch dressing.. chopped onion and chopped garlic. Holy cow delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Surprisingly these turned out well, even on the first try. My husband ate way more than I expected and I know he will love it when I make them again. They are a little messy to make with the croissants. After I rolled and cut them, they didn't look like they would stay together. They cooked really well and even. I added more onion than required, but that is my preference. I really like the onion in it, without it, they seemed like it would be boring. I highly recommend this recipe and can be taken even further now that I know how simple they were to make. **Second attempt turned out even better. This time I put Pam on the baking sheet. The first time they stuck really badly, but I was able to pry them off. I also bake the bacon first which is much easier than frying and very easy clean up. This time, I prepared early, so I put them in the fridge before cutting them. I think this made it a little easier to cut and you definitely want to use a serrated knife to cut them. They were still a bit messy and you don't think they are going to stay together, but it all melts together and is so delicious. I highly recommend this recipe to everyone. It is one of the simplest, great tasting recipes that we have had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Love this idea; I plan to try it with a little Northwest flair by using smoked salmon, capers, and cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1luckylemon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Appleton City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were good. To make slicing easier, I chilled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These are fantastic! I used "three cheese" bottled ranch dressing for them. They are great prepared exactly as shown, but to make them even better: 1. Make sure you chop/grate the ingredients really fine. It makes them easier to cut, so you don't have to freeze them. 2. Use a very, very thin layer of ranch dressing inside the rolls (just enough to make them slightly wet), and then use ranch dressing as a dipping sauce. This means everyone can get exactly as much of the ranch taste as they like. Also - I haven't tried them yet, but perhaps fry sauce or melted butter would make great sauces too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Good stuff! Varied a little, of course....isn't that what makes cooking fun?! We don't like ranch so I subbed honey mustard...awesome!! Could also add pimentos or roasted tomatoes for color and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States