Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is a wonderful treat. I made it in my cast iron pan and it turned out perfectly the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
OMG! OMG! OMG! Saw this yesterday while surfing the site. Hours later was checking the fridge for something to whip up quickly and BINGO there were the mashed potatoes a pack of bacon and some shredded cheddar. Was running late- dinner a must in 45 mins. OK Lets try this! OMG! It was quick, easy and out of this world good.Served them up with some baked eggs and fresh fruit for a quick dinner and was instantly hailed as a kitchen hero by 4 HUNGRY teens. Thanks rae! this one will definitely be a permanent keeper in my house. LOL my hollow legged 19 yr old just walked by and asked if he could make these for breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this and its mmy new pregnancy craving lol I added a little bit of chive and made it into a ball coated it in flour and dropped them in hot oil frying them it was amazing and I'd encourage you to try it the same way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I really loved this recipe! The flavors were great, but I did have some issues with the patties falling apart in the pan (possibly because my mashed potatoes are always mashed red potatoes with their skins on). I plan to make this again, but form the mixture into more than 8 patties next time since I think their large size had a lot to do with it. I also would add an another slice of bacon (& probably another egg to help it hold together) since we are big on bacon around here. Great recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
My Mom used to make this all the time when I was growing up. The trick is in the cooking. If you don't brown them they will fall apart. When making the patties you may need to add a little flour especially if your mashed potatoes were fake/box /mix and not homemade. We always added the leftover corn to the batter also (we always had corn, lol) and then gravy. True comfort food, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
These were delicious but I had to add extra flour. Next time I am going to try adding one egg instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Awesome! I had made 'Baked Potato Skins' last night, so I had all the insides that I needed to do something with, and this was perfect for that! I mashed up the insides and mixed in some melted butter, milk, salt and pepper and then proceeded w/ the recipe. I used my large cookie scoop to portion the mixture into the pan, and then just flattened them and let them cook. These had great flavor (loved that these were fried in the bacon grease) and sort of reminded me of a cheesy hashbrown~YUM! We make something similar to these, except putting more of an Italian spin on them...this is a wonderful alternative to those and one I will be making again! Thanks, Rae, for sharing such a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was so yummy. My husband and 2 year old son ate these until they were gone. The only thing that makes me happy in life is to make my family happy, and this definitly did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was very tasty! My leftover mashed potatoes had lots of sour cream and some small chunks of potatoes, so of course, they didn't stay together as well as they could have. I also think two eggs was actually too much for my already soft mashed potatoes as well. What worked best for me was making the cakes even smaller and using a fork to turn them over after they got crisp and brown on the bottom. They fell apart when I used other utensils and didn't wait for them to get extra crispy on the bottom. Next time, I won't use leftover mashed potatoes with sour cream and I'll only use one large egg. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Made these and mixed panko bread crumbs with recipe. Did not use bacon, because I had none, but did cook in a light mixture of butter and olive oil. Fabulous! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States