Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
OMG! OMG! OMG! Saw this yesterday while surfing the site. Hours later was checking the fridge for something to whip up quickly and BINGO there were the mashed potatoes a pack of bacon and some shredded cheddar. Was running late- dinner a must in 45 mins. OK Lets try this! OMG! It was quick, easy and out of this world good.Served them up with some baked eggs and fresh fruit for a quick dinner and was instantly hailed as a kitchen hero by 4 HUNGRY teens. Thanks rae! this one will definitely be a permanent keeper in my house. LOL my hollow legged 19 yr old just walked by and asked if he could make these for breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Potatoe cakes are an iffy animal. Couple of tips: If they seem to not hold together well, try adding a little flour to help thicken them up, and also, it is a must that they be well browned before you try to turn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Rae: I tried making these cakes and had a heck of a time trying to keep them together when browning them. They fell apart completely so I just mushed them all together and the result was still outstanding. I just read your note about potatoes being cold when making the recipe. My potatoes were NOT cold so now I know what I did wrong. I'm trying it again with cold potatoes because the flavor was awesome and I'm not giving up! Now you know why I am the "recipe mangler."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Awesome! I had made 'Baked Potato Skins' last night, so I had all the insides that I needed to do something with, and this was perfect for that! I mashed up the insides and mixed in some melted butter, milk, salt and pepper and then proceeded w/ the recipe. I used my large cookie scoop to portion the mixture into the pan, and then just flattened them and let them cook. These had great flavor (loved that these were fried in the bacon grease) and sort of reminded me of a cheesy hashbrown~YUM! We make something similar to these, except putting more of an Italian spin on them...this is a wonderful alternative to those and one I will be making again! Thanks, Rae, for sharing such a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Was OK - nothing to write home about. I needed to use less potatoes and make smaller patties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A waste of some really good mashed potatoes. I always make a new recipe as it calls for, even added one more slice of bacon. Came out dry and the flavors never came through. Removing from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pelican Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I like the idea of all the ingredents, but you need to be very careful on the consistency of the mash potatoes. If they do not hold together on their own like a pattie when you cook them they will fall apart. If you need to add flour or bead crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used a bit more bacon and added some bread crumbs. They browned up nicely in some butter. Good way to use up left over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Made these and mixed panko bread crumbs with recipe. Did not use bacon, because I had none, but did cook in a light mixture of butter and olive oil. Fabulous! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I like this recipe concept and the proportions are good. I did add 1/2 cup of flour after reading the reviews, as that was the first thing I thought "where is the flour?" My mother made mashed potato patties and added flour and also dredged them in flour, which gives a nice crust, which I did. This is definitely a keeper with the irresistable combination of bacon and cheese! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States