Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
As written it's not that good because you really need flour to mix in with the potatoes and eggs in order to keep the patties together, otherwise they fall apart while frying. You also need real onion, diced small to give the patties some down home flavor since onion powder isn't going to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I REALLY liked Irish Coleen's idea of using mashed caulflower for a low carb version. You will definitely have to add more seasonings as she mentioned. Garlic powder, onion, chives & and maybe parm cheese and pinch of red pepper flakes.Read the reviews about 1) fry mixture when mixture has chilled. Besides, it allowed for make ahead & fry later 2) adding 1 to 2 T. Flour, so they do not fall apart. One other note: Mashed potatoes do not freeze well....they get gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
The flavor of these was excellent! I had trouble getting them to stay together when I flipped them, even though I followed the instructions exactly, including keeping the potatoes cold. Mine also got a bit too dark at 4 minutes per seed, but that may be due to my stove, which I think runs a bit hot. Will definitely try this again, but next time cook a little lower and slower. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I had bad results with frying them but the recipe is so good that I'm keeping it and baking a Casserole next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella Edney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have TRIED this recipe to the letter TWICE and I have yet been able to get the ingredients to stay together and form into an actual patty. All I end up getting is a big pile of MUSH in the pan. Don't get me wrong, I still eat the mess, but it hasn't YET made patties for me. I only used half of the prepared recipe the second time, just TRIED to form the patties, and no such luck. I was disappointed, and I am sitting here eating a plate full of mashed potatoes with bacon and cheddar cheese. Wanted this to work so bad, just didn't work for me. Any Suggestions ANYONE?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
We did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I am eating some right now and they are sooooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My family have made fried potato patties for years. From a very large family and always made our mashed potatoes from scratch. The secret to making these is a well seasoned cast iron frying pan. I don't understand why but a Teflon pan doesn't work as well. The patties tend to fall apart. We used to have these for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I didn't expect it to be so good! My family loved it too. This will be a weekend regular. No changes either, just make sure your PO's are cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Before I made the recipe, I did view some of the reviews. I mainly wanted to make sure that these patties didn't fall apart and had some taste. I made the patties according to the recipe but with the following: I used 4 slices of bacon; I added bread crumbs; and Goya's Adobo seasoning (about a 1/4 teaspoon, to me this seasoning always trumps bland, and it did). Great way to use up the mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving. Both my hubby and I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States