Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I used exact measurements here and ended up with a mess in my frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Tried this recipe and it was great. I seem to always have leftover mashed potatoes following a big dinner. I often make these patties the next morning for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne S. Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Add some flour to the potatoes and they will hold together better. In my country we serve these with the bacon on the side and lingonberry jam (sold at IKEA)for dinner. YUM. Tried them and the whole family liked this version as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Not only do the potatoes have to be cold, but the potatoes have to be the thicker type of mashed potatoes. If they are the soft type, they won't hold together and you will need to add 1-2 tbs of flour to the mix. I also only used one egg and it seemed to be enough. You can taste the potato mix and see if they are seasoned as well as you like before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It was great, but, I used my leftover twice baked potato recipe and just added the egg. Tasted great. The cream cheese helped hold it together and the green onion was definitely necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I like this recipe concept and the proportions are good. I did add 1/2 cup of flour after reading the reviews, as that was the first thing I thought "where is the flour?" My mother made mashed potato patties and added flour and also dredged them in flour, which gives a nice crust, which I did. This is definitely a keeper with the irresistable combination of bacon and cheese! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I make these all the time. I add some sour cream and flour and use just 1 egg. Fry on low heat until brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
My Mom used to make this all the time when I was growing up. The trick is in the cooking. If you don't brown them they will fall apart. When making the patties you may need to add a little flour especially if your mashed potatoes were fake/box /mix and not homemade. We always added the leftover corn to the batter also (we always had corn, lol) and then gravy. True comfort food, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I used a bit more bacon and added some bread crumbs. They browned up nicely in some butter. Good way to use up left over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I thought these had a good flavor. I did make a few modifications based on some of the other reviews. I used five pieces of bacon because we are big bacon eaters. I also only had mexican blend cheese, but I was happy with it. I mixed a couple TBS bread crumbs into the mix to avoid them falling apart, and coated them with flour. I just pan fried them in butter and finished them in the oven. Good flavor, but I think next time I'll coat them in breadcrumbs instead of flour. To avoid having them fall apart on you, you must make sure that, when frying, they are nicely browned before you go to turn them otherwise, you will have mush. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States