Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have TRIED this recipe to the letter TWICE and I have yet been able to get the ingredients to stay together and form into an actual patty. All I end up getting is a big pile of MUSH in the pan. Don't get me wrong, I still eat the mess, but it hasn't YET made patties for me. I only used half of the prepared recipe the second time, just TRIED to form the patties, and no such luck. I was disappointed, and I am sitting here eating a plate full of mashed potatoes with bacon and cheddar cheese. Wanted this to work so bad, just didn't work for me. Any Suggestions ANYONE?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
We did not care for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I am eating some right now and they are sooooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My family have made fried potato patties for years. From a very large family and always made our mashed potatoes from scratch. The secret to making these is a well seasoned cast iron frying pan. I don't understand why but a Teflon pan doesn't work as well. The patties tend to fall apart. We used to have these for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I didn't expect it to be so good! My family loved it too. This will be a weekend regular. No changes either, just make sure your PO's are cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Before I made the recipe, I did view some of the reviews. I mainly wanted to make sure that these patties didn't fall apart and had some taste. I made the patties according to the recipe but with the following: I used 4 slices of bacon; I added bread crumbs; and Goya's Adobo seasoning (about a 1/4 teaspoon, to me this seasoning always trumps bland, and it did). Great way to use up the mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving. Both my hubby and I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Love this recipe. A nice way to use up my mashed spuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is an interesting recipe that I decided to use as a base for some lrftover mashed potatoes and some stuff I had in the fridge. Instead of bacon I used some smoked sausage that I chopped up then added a small, chopped onion and some chopped green pepper. My 3 year old, who's not a big eater, really enjoyed them. Like I said this is a great base and I'll continue experimenting with ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Love this recipe. I made meat-loaf earlier this week and my daddy walked in the kitchen and said we will have left-over potatoes you could do that recipe again. (My daddy is extremely picky so the fact that he requested I make these again was just a big plus!) I changed it up a little this time around though. Instead of using a tsp of onion powder I just sprinkled onion powder on it and then chopped up a couple of the green onions I had on hand and threw those in. I also felt like it needed a little bit more bacon so I cooked half a pack. I liked it better with the changes I made but it is good either way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is a wonderful treat. I made it in my cast iron pan and it turned out perfectly the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

A spicy change to regular deviled eggs.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States