Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Potatoe cakes are an iffy animal. Couple of tips: If they seem to not hold together well, try adding a little flour to help thicken them up, and also, it is a must that they be well browned before you try to turn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Awesome! I had made 'Baked Potato Skins' last night, so I had all the insides that I needed to do something with, and this was perfect for that! I mashed up the insides and mixed in some melted butter, milk, salt and pepper and then proceeded w/ the recipe. I used my large cookie scoop to portion the mixture into the pan, and then just flattened them and let them cook. These had great flavor (loved that these were fried in the bacon grease) and sort of reminded me of a cheesy hashbrown~YUM! We make something similar to these, except putting more of an Italian spin on them...this is a wonderful alternative to those and one I will be making again! Thanks, Rae, for sharing such a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
A waste of some really good mashed potatoes. I always make a new recipe as it calls for, even added one more slice of bacon. Came out dry and the flavors never came through. Removing from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pelican Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I did a search for recipes with bacon and cheddar and this recipe came up. I needed something I could alter to my low carb diet and so I decided to give this one a try. I replaced the mashed potatoes with steamed cauliflower but left everything else the same. They were good but there wasn't much flavor for our tastes. Next time, I'd add garlic, onions, maybe some parmesan cheese. These were good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Was OK - nothing to write home about. I needed to use less potatoes and make smaller patties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I really loved this recipe! The flavors were great, but I did have some issues with the patties falling apart in the pan (possibly because my mashed potatoes are always mashed red potatoes with their skins on). I plan to make this again, but form the mixture into more than 8 patties next time since I think their large size had a lot to do with it. I also would add an another slice of bacon (& probably another egg to help it hold together) since we are big on bacon around here. Great recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was very tasty! My leftover mashed potatoes had lots of sour cream and some small chunks of potatoes, so of course, they didn't stay together as well as they could have. I also think two eggs was actually too much for my already soft mashed potatoes as well. What worked best for me was making the cakes even smaller and using a fork to turn them over after they got crisp and brown on the bottom. They fell apart when I used other utensils and didn't wait for them to get extra crispy on the bottom. Next time, I won't use leftover mashed potatoes with sour cream and I'll only use one large egg. Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was so yummy. My husband and 2 year old son ate these until they were gone. The only thing that makes me happy in life is to make my family happy, and this definitly did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Rae: I tried making these cakes and had a heck of a time trying to keep them together when browning them. They fell apart completely so I just mushed them all together and the result was still outstanding. I just read your note about potatoes being cold when making the recipe. My potatoes were NOT cold so now I know what I did wrong. I'm trying it again with cold potatoes because the flavor was awesome and I'm not giving up! Now you know why I am the "recipe mangler."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
OMG! OMG! OMG! Saw this yesterday while surfing the site. Hours later was checking the fridge for something to whip up quickly and BINGO there were the mashed potatoes a pack of bacon and some shredded cheddar. Was running late- dinner a must in 45 mins. OK Lets try this! OMG! It was quick, easy and out of this world good.Served them up with some baked eggs and fresh fruit for a quick dinner and was instantly hailed as a kitchen hero by 4 HUNGRY teens. Thanks rae! this one will definitely be a permanent keeper in my house. LOL my hollow legged 19 yr old just walked by and asked if he could make these for breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States