Bacon Cheddar Patty Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is an interesting recipe that I decided to use as a base for some lrftover mashed potatoes and some stuff I had in the fridge. Instead of bacon I used some smoked sausage that I chopped up then added a small, chopped onion and some chopped green pepper. My 3 year old, who's not a big eater, really enjoyed them. Like I said this is a great base and I'll continue experimenting with ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Love this recipe. I made meat-loaf earlier this week and my daddy walked in the kitchen and said we will have left-over potatoes you could do that recipe again. (My daddy is extremely picky so the fact that he requested I make these again was just a big plus!) I changed it up a little this time around though. Instead of using a tsp of onion powder I just sprinkled onion powder on it and then chopped up a couple of the green onions I had on hand and threw those in. I also felt like it needed a little bit more bacon so I cooked half a pack. I liked it better with the changes I made but it is good either way! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is a wonderful treat. I made it in my cast iron pan and it turned out perfectly the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
A great base recipe to adjust to your own liking. I used 5 slices of precooked bacon because I had leftover grease in the freezer and it was faster. Only one egg and no salt. Also used a little garlic powder. As others have said, I needed to add some flour. Definitely dredge the patties in flour for a nice crisp crust. Also they're much easier to turn if they're really crispy. A new way to serve leftovers. My family loved them! Next time I'm going to add some diced jalapeno peppers ( from a jar ) to add a little unexpected kick. Maybe even top with some sour cream and sliced green onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made this and its mmy new pregnancy craving lol I added a little bit of chive and made it into a ball coated it in flour and dropped them in hot oil frying them it was amazing and I'd encourage you to try it the same way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delicious. However you need to dust these with flour before you fry them otherwise they will fall apart. But perfect for leftover spuds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Had to add some flour to get them to hold together and I just don't like cheddar cheese in everything so I used 1/2 cup pepper jack. That was just enough. But something seemed to missing, not sure what. But I will try it again with some other seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I left them alone until they had browned well before trying to turn them so they wouldn't fall apart. I gave this recipe just 4 stars because I added about half a teaspoon of Sriracha sauce to mine for that flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
These were delicious but I had to add extra flour. Next time I am going to try adding one egg instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I used exact measurements here and ended up with a mess in my frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States