Bacon Cheddar Jalapeno Poppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Just a suggestion I found helped keep the cheese in the pepper. When you cut off the stem end leave enough of the pepper so that you have a solid end. When you cut the pepper in half it looks like a little boat. This keeps the melted cheese from running out.I precook the bacon slightly so that I don't have to turn them and bake them at 400 till the bacon is crisp instead of broiling them. I've been doing this for years and have always had good luck. Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
The guys really digged these at our last football party. My only suggestion is pre-cook the bacon to at least the soft stage to make sure it is crispy and line the baking sheet with foil for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
These were pretty good. I used pre-cooked bacon and only broiled 2-3 minutes. I also have made them with cream cheese. I mixed shredded sharp cheddar, 4 oz. cream cheese and a few seeds for some heat and broiled for 2-3 minutes. My family liked this better. By using the pre-cooked bacon and only broiling for 3 minutes, my cheese didn't melt all over the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This recipe was fantastic and easy to make. I cooked them as long as it said to, AND I never did turn them. Most of the cheese stayed in the poppers, and the bacon was cooked just fine! I added a little water to the bottom of my broiler pan to cut down on any smoke that might occur. We had these for Super Bowl Sunday, and my husband and I had fun making them (AND eating them!) I will never get store bought poppers again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Try pre-cooking the bacon and adding it chopped to the cheese filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANY BROWN

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
This recipe is GREAT!!! I made these for a turkey fry party and they were a bigger hit than the turkey! I took the suggestion of adding some seeds to the cheese, and it worked great. Also, I shredded the cheese in my processor, mixed the seeds in and rolled it into balls...it fits in the pepper better. GREAT! Works really good with turkey bacon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This was a very good treat. I cooked them in a cupcake pan (3-4 in each section.) This way the cheese didn't melt out and eaveryone enjoyed them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
Easy to make, since there are only 3 ingredients, but preparing the jalapenos can be time consuming. An important precaution - protect your hands when seeding the peppers. Jalapenos can cause some really severe skin irritation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This recipe tasted OK, but was incredibly messy to make. It is hard to wrap slimy bacon around a slippery pepper, and make sure it stays in place. When cooking them, the main problem was keeping them in the broiler long enough to get the bacon to crisp up, without all of the cheese melting and running out. For the second batch, we precooked the bacon about halfway, but this only helped slightly. Overall, I would not recommend this recipe. It was just not worth the mess for the mediocre results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I had to cook these a bit longer than I thought I would have to get the bacon done. I think next time we'll cook the bacon a bit before wrapping to cut down on the broiling time and keep some of the cheese in the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States